In Keeping With the Potty-Training Theme

February 16, 2014

Here is a conversation I had with 3-Year-Old a few weeks ago as I was helping her get dressed for bed…..

3-Year-Old:  “Mommy!  I went icky in my undies today in the garage!”  (She had been wearing training pants and thought this was a significant occurrence that needed to be brought up.)

Me:  “Oh, that’s not good.  We don’t go icky in our undies EVER, and CERTAINLY not in the garage!”  

3-Year-Old then gave me an expression that was a cross between I-can-if-I-want-to and WHY-is-that-not-something-we-do? It-was-a-nice-place-to-go….quiet-and-private-and-heated.

Me:  “If you need to go icky, go in the potty!  Just tell Mommy that you need to go and I’ll help you, just like normal, ok?  Because we just don’t go icky in the garage in our undies.  MOMMY doesn’t go icky in her undies in the garage.  11-Year-Old doesn’t go icky in her undies in the garage.  9-Year-Old doesn’t go icky in her undies in the garage.  GRANDMA doesn’t go icky in her undies in the garage (correct me if I’m wrong here, Momma).  DADDY doesn’t go icky in his undies in the garage.  17-Year-Old doesn’t go icky in his undies in the garage.”  (You’re seeing a theme here, aren’t you?)

3-Year-Old, looking confused and apparently feeling the need to clear up my obvious confusion:  “NO, Mommy!  I-I-I-I-I-I (big emphasis on this) go icky in my undies in the garage!”

Totally missed the point.

But….MAN, she’s cute and funny!  (Even WITH the icky-in-her-undies-in-the-garage thing.)

One Response to “In Keeping With the Potty-Training Theme”

  1. Duane said

    Nice to be receiving once again – no not the “icky” – the blog.
    DK

Leave a comment