Prayer time in our home

October 11, 2007

After devotion time tonight, here were the prayers that were uttered by our 3 oldest boys. Trust me. You don’t need any more preface than that.

Boy #1: “Dear Lord, thank you for this nice day. Please help Grandma and Grandpa to have a safe trip to our house, and make them arrive sooner than expected. Thank you for dying on the cross for us, and for giving us our house and barn and Mommy and Daddy.”

Boy #2: “Dear Lord, thank you for this nice day. Please help Grandma and Grandpa to have a safe trip to our house, and make them arrive sooner than expected. Thank you for dying on the cross for us, and for giving us our house and barn and Mommy and Daddy.”

Boy #3: “Dear Lord, thank you for this nice day. Please help Grandma and Grandpa to have a safe trip to our house, and make them arrive sooner than expected. Thank you for –“

And this is when I interrupted, trying to retain some small semblance of respect that we started with, but at the same time, incredulous that the spontaneous memorization they showed could not be duplicated in their school time, particularly during the times when I ask them to please, PLEASE try to remember that an “o” and an “i” sitting beside each other in a word says “oy”, and if I have to repeat this phonics rule one more time, I’m going to pull all my fingernails out with pliers and fling them at each son, secretly aiming for their eyes!

3 Responses to “Prayer time in our home”

  1. Susan said

    I’m so glad our house is not the only one that the kids all say the same thing. Our prayer is this Dear Lord, Thank you for this day, and I pray that I will saty pure and I thankyou for my husband who is being raised in a Godly home. This is the one we hear from the three oldest ones and know the five year old is praying the same thing.

  2. Susan said

    O.k. that post is terrible forgive all the mistakes, I think I am still half asleep.

  3. Lori said

    Same here girls, ours is “Dear God, thank you for this day, thank you for everything you give us, help…” and that’s where the prayers seperate into which ever category fits best “this food in the nurishment our our bodies”, “us to have a good day”, “us to sleep well tonight”. Haven’t you ever noticed that I don’t HAVE fingernails. Don’t go there, it REALLY hurts.

Leave a Reply

