Snacktime

November 5, 2007

As I was carrying my humongous 2-year-old upstairs for her nap as part of my exercise routine, she was discussing what would happen after Rest Time was over. I told her that she would have a snack. She then informed me that I was wrong — that we would, in fact, be having our breakfast after her nap, which would be oatmeal. So I informed HER that SNACKS would be eaten after naps, and they would be carrots! And I lifted my eyebrows, got close to her face, smiled, and said, “Yummy, yummy carrots!” At which point, she smiled, closed her eyes, and with a sigh of ecstasy, whispered, “Yes! Carrots!” And you would’ve thought, instead, that I had promised Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups as a first course, Baked Alaska with a huge dollop of whipped cream on top as the main course, and chocolate ice cream as dessert.

And I considered, later on, how thankful I am to have children who consider a snack of carrots a glorious occasion.

2 Responses to “Snacktime”

  1. mindy said

    I bribed OUR almost-two-year-old to cooperate and smile for me to take his picture yesterday with a cucumber slice! Isn’t it great???

  2. Zum said

    You GO girl!

Leave a Reply

