Mommy Glee

November 27, 2007

There is a new phenomenon in our house lately, and I can’t even express to you the feeling of elation that envelops me whenever it occurs. Our 2-year-old….you know, the one in diapers who could win some sort of sick prize for the incredible aroma that accompanies each icky diaper that she produces…..has taken to asking Daddy to change the nasty packages whenever she makes them when he is at home. It goes like this……Various individuals in the house come to inform me that whatever they are participating in at the moment is being ruined by the stench eminating from the 2-year-old. I instruct her to come to me so that I can change her diaper, and she stops, frowns for a moment, looks quickly around the room, spots Daddy, and, smiling with the excitement of spending special time with Daddy, plus the pleasure of giving Daddy such a wonderful gift, she shouts, “DADDY DO IT!” and looks with anticipation at the expression of pure delight he MUST have at this announcement! And he just isn’t able to worm his way out of it because….a) she’s standing right there with that expression, remember? and b) the guilt factor of being gone all day at work kicks in, so he feels that he MUST! And I don’t really feel any urge to help him out of his predicament. See, this whole thing is just hilarious to me because of the Avoidance Factor that has been happening for years. The excuses to get out of this chore have been numerous and, I must say, creative…..

“She’s got a diaper rash, and I’m just not sure what to do about that.”
“I don’t understand your system with the cloth diapers.”
“She wants you to do it since you’re her mother, and you’re both female.”
“The grass is growing higher and higher outside as we speak, and I can no longer ingnore it. I HAVE TO MOW RIGHT THIS INSTANT!”
“I suddenly have to use the bathroom, and I’ll probably be in there awhile.” (reading the new “This Old House” while using the potty as a chair and nothing else)

So you can understand my glee. And you can see how laughing and pointing and sticking my thumbs in my ears, fingers splayed, while chanting “Na-na-nee-boo-boo” can occur.

And I am just totally unable to stop myself……even though I fully realize that I am a nearing-40 mother of eight children who watch and imitate me, and that I’m supposed to be mature and blah, blah, blah.

But if you had changed as many icky diapers as I have over the last 13 years, you’d act the same way!

3 Responses to “Mommy Glee”

  1. Becky said

    LOL! I am sooo with you on that one. My son does the same thing when daddy is home. Though I must admit I encouraged it by saying, “Oooh, you’re stinky. Go tell daddy you need a new diaper.” And he would.

    I LOVE when that happens and my hubby can’t weasel his way out of it, lol. When he looks at me helplessly, I just say, “Welcome to my life.” and walk away glad that my overly dry hands won’t require another washing right then.

  2. Alyson said

    In october you wrote a comment on my blog about my personal testimony and asked me what happened with Adam??
    I married him six months later 🙂

  3. suburbancorrespondent said

    Oooh, you are lucky! Sometimes I do try to coach the 2-year-old into requesting Daddy. “Remember, when Daddy comes home, he likes to change your diaper. Let Daddy do it.”

Leave a Reply

