Toddlers Instructing Toddlers

November 29, 2007

So I was standing in the kitchen the other day when I heard a commotion in the bathroom. The 3-year-old and 2-year-old girls were in there, with 3-year-old doing her thing, and 2-year-old observing/supervising. The 2-year-old asked me if she could try the potty, so I got her ready, and headed back into the kitchen to do some more standing. Because when I’m not actually cooking in there, I’m waiting for the next meal where I begin all over again, which gives me a 4-and-a-half-minute window where I just stand there and think about how much I love my kitchen, and the stained glass window that I found at a German flea market and could snuggle with every night in my bed if it wasn’t hanging above my kitchen sink, and how it is so perfect in there……oh! And then the window closes, and it is time to boil something or blend something or chop something.

Was I telling a story here or just being weird about my kitchen?

Okay! So as I was standing there, admiring stuff, I heard from behind the bathroom door the 3-year-old giving pointers to the 2-year-old on how to go potty on the Big Potty. And you just have to know that the 3-year-old is probably the most feminine and sweet-spirited child that we have. So you will understand the significance and humor of learning that as I peeked in the door to get a visual, there she stood in her flowery dress and hairbow, directly in front of the potty where her littler sister sat, partially bent at the waist and red in the face, making very loud, very gutteral, and very non-feminine, instructional grunting noises.




2 Responses to “Toddlers Instructing Toddlers”

  1. Proud Father said

    That’s my girl!!!!!

  2. will hayes said

    I would like to ask proud father his toughts on ‘gorbal’warming.I just love your family.I hope God didn’t break the mold this time.
    uncle will

Leave a Reply

