A Post in Which I Explain My BW…….

January 26, 2008

which means Birth Wussiness because we are a military family and are thereby obssessed with acronyms. We can’t help it.

After the last post about my fear of labor, I wanted to clarify that I do NOT hate having babies! OH NO! The REAL problem is, is that I dread what I must do in order to GET the new baby. Just to clarify, I LOVE my children. I adore them. My life would not be complete or happy or adventurous or fun or challenging-in-a-good-way if they weren’t around. That would really stink.

My problem is that, unfortunately, I dread the process that must occur in order to eject them from my body, and into the family unit. I was not always like this. I used to find the process interesting and challenging and mildly amusing in a weird kind of way. I kinda enjoyed the entire thing, and had fun with it.

But then number 5 came along, born into a bathtub in Germany with no one present except my husband and myself because it all happened in the blink of an eye. And after many, many months of mulling over WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED THERE?, I happened upon the perfect word for what that labor was. Violent. And that’s all there is to it. One minute, I was sitting on the couch innocently reading, and the next minute, I was hit by a freight train that had not seen me on the tracks, so it didn’t even hit the brakes. And it happened to be hauling 472 cars full of ball bearings, cinder blocks, and blue whales.

Really and truly, in 15 contractions, it was over, which sounds all quick and nice and overwith, but in reality, A HUMAN BEING CAME OUT OF MY BODY AFTER 15 CONTRACTIONS. Can you comprehend how much pain had to happen inside of my body in order to perform that feat? And it’s not like I was quietly contracting all day and not noticing. Just so you know.

This is why labor scares me. Badly. I hope you understand this, and know that I do not hate having children. I am thrilled every time the pregnancy test comes back positive, and I am thrilled once that sweet baby is out and I can hold her and watch her sleep and see the other children ooh and aah over her.

And I just wanted you to know.

3 Responses to “A Post in Which I Explain My BW…….”

  1. Nana C said

    You are loved by many and give joy to all of us, as we share our lives, we can laugh, cry, and thank each other. We know you are blessed with a gracious God. You are a wonderful soul. Hope to see you in the spring. Nana C

  2. Alyson said

    I hear y’a sister….first child I was oblivious to the pain…good and naive. Second child I knew it would hurt but figured I could get through it…the third child I was petrified because I knew there would be a point when I actually thought I would die….

  3. trish said

    I am praying that your labor goes smoothly and easily. Have you seen this video clip yet? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z3WA9iHz5ww

    I can’t imagine labor being like this…mine weren’t pretty. We’ll just leave it at that! *L*

Leave a Reply

