Scary, Imaginative Play

February 10, 2008

Most kids have good imaginations, right?  They build cool stuff in the backyard, and come up with new games, and find interesting ways to make toilet paper tubes into guns and dinosaurs and guns.  OUR kids, however, go far and above the normal imaginative play, in my opinion.  Scarily so.  As in, “Are they going to need therapy later in life because of the new and innovative games they played in childhood?”

The other day, our kids came racing upstairs to ask me if I could come down to see the new thing they figured out to play.  I should’ve been scared.  Or, at the very least, skeptical.  Here’s what happened.  Two of the cute little girls that we have, in their dresses and pigtails, were on one side of the playroom, pecking at the floor and making weird, gobble-y types of noises.  Two of the bigger boys stood on the other end of the playroom, “loaded” their wooden rifles, aimed, and fired at their sweet little sisters.  When the gun sounds went off, those little girls flung themselves up into the air, and landed with scary thuds on their backs, unmoving and unblinking.  Their older, hunter brothers jumped up and down, whooping and hollering at the game they had just nailed.   

And I just about fell off the stairs, laughing.  Maybe that was wrong of me.

But I’m going to just pat myself on the back for being a supportive mom who possesses a sense of humor, and the ability to let my boys be boys………..and let them pretend to “off” their little sisters.

Somethin’ wrong with that?

6 Responses to “Scary, Imaginative Play”

  1. M said

    Were those little girls willing to “play?” Or were they, might I say, forced to by “hunting entranced” brothers? I was just wondering about that =)

  2. Mother said

    Oh my stars! I laughed and laughed at this one. You’re kidding . . . right? I can just see it in my mind’s eye – the little girls flinging themselves up in the air, only to land with a thud on the floor. LOL, LOL.

  3. Kristin said

    Okay, you almost made me fall off my chair!! LOL My 2-yr-old ds came up with a great game too… it’s called “I die” and is played by falling over on the ground as if you’ve been hit by a battering ram and saying “I die”. Where do they get these ideas!?

    ~kjl
    (from qf digest)

  4. Kelly said

    Hello, you have no idea who I am but I love reading your blog! I belive as kids we (my bros. and sister) played a game in erie resemblence, and we all truned out just fine!

  5. Kimberly said

    Oh, that is so funny! I was sitting here almost asleep and now I am ROFLOL!!!

Leave a Reply

