Did Y’all Know We’re Going to be Having a Baby Soon?

February 12, 2008

2-Year-Old just discovered today that, in another few weeks, we are going to be having a new person around the house.  Today, she learned this.  Six weeks from the due date.

She was attempting to climb on my lap as I sat on a stepstool in the kitchen, in-between pancake flippings because you know how strenuous THAT can be.  I say “attempting” because, even though I have long legs, I still manage to not have much of a lap at this point in my pregnancy.  Also, I was having a few contractions, probably because of the aforementioned pancake-flipping that was apparently causing undue stress due to the extreme strenuous-ness of the activity.  And when a 40-pound 2-year-old is trying to climb on your lap that doesn’t exist, WHILE you are having a contraction AND having to monitor pancake readiness, well, something’s gotta give.  I told her that Mommy couldn’t let her sit on my lap right now, so she LAID across it. 

Because THAT was so much better. 

Then I realized that, while she prays for the baby, and calls the baby by the name we will be giving her (most likely on the “her” part), she may not understand that Mommy is actually carrying the baby around underneath my dress in a carrier that is roughly the size and shape of a beach ball.  Except without the bright colors, and the little pictures of dolphins and beach umbrellas and stuff.

So I pointed to my belly and said, “Do you know that the baby is in Mommy’s tummy?”  And she was flabbergasted!  She checked underneath my apron, and then tried to come in from the side, and pushed and poked and gave me looks like, “I can’t BELIEVE you knew that ALL THIS TIME and didn’t tell me! How COULD you?!!!”  And so I reminded her that she DID know about the baby, and, remember what the baby’s name is? 

And this was her answer………

“Green?”

Right.  Now go play with your sister, Fuschia, and your  brother, Powder Blue.  And while you’re at it, tell Burnt Orange I need her help in here.

7 Responses to “Did Y’all Know We’re Going to be Having a Baby Soon?”

  1. Susan said

    That was too funny, anb by the way your names are great.

  2. Palmetto Boy said

    That 2 year old is one cute thing that’s for sure! Maybe you should write a book about her.

  3. Zum said

    LOLOLOLOLOLOL!!! Oh goodness!!! You surely have strange names for your children! TOO funny!

  4. abi said

    Like I’ve said before…I just LOVE your writing style…it’s so contagiously funny! 😀 Thank you for the smiles, and laughter! I love you!

  5. Heather said

    I absolutely LOVE visiting this site. Your stories are hysterical. This one, in particular, cracked me up. I often read them while I am at work and always pray that nobody walks in while I am chuckling away!!!

    Blessings to you and your family. Thank you for sharing your life with us:)

  6. Stacey said

    I’m a nice new reader w/ a nice post…you are a hoot! I so feel your pain in pregnancy…to a degree, anyway! just had my 5th little punkin and used to wheeze at the griddle, too! And your 2 yo reminds of my 3 year old darling who said, at her first look at our new baby BOY, “I like girl babies.” 🙂

  7. Aunt Duane said

    Is that what you wanted under mail? I needed these laughs and insight into the family today – miss you guys “terribly” or should that be “wonderfully”? Anyway, thinking about the upcoming event and wishing you well. Tell husband, hello, and give him grief during the event just to keep him on his toes.

Leave a Reply

