I’m Irritated.

February 14, 2008

Doesn’t that make you anxious to read this post?  Yes, I’m irritated.  Peeved.  Hacked off.  Irked.  Bugged.  You sensing a theme here?

The kids tried playing fun games this afternoon, but just ended up yelling and fighting and telling various siblings that they couldn’t play because they breathed at the wrong time or stepped on the incorrect square foot of space in the basement or some rule that is understandable only by people who can’t drive yet.  And then the Cleaning Up At the End of the Day Time didn’t happen the way I envision it.  And the way I envision it is the way it should be because I’m the mom and you know what THAT means.  That I win.  All the time.  And if you cheat and don’t play my game right, you will be sorry because Mommy don’t play that way.

And then the barbecue burned and water spilled on a child’s bed and Tiniest Kid could not make himself happy and neither could anyone else.  And then Daddy had the nerve to come home all cheerful and like, “What’s the problem?  You have a nice home and 8 wonderful children and me as a husband, and you think that being irritated right now is logical and rational and a positive way to spend your time?”  So of course I had to remind him that I am NOT a guy, AND I am very pregnant, so the logic and the rationality that he is hoping for, will never EVER exist in his universe as long as he is alive and living with me.  And I think that didn’t go well.  And then he read my blog about him, and was a little irritated that the words “husband” and “cute little crocheted things” were in the same blog post.  Oops.

So now I’m clocked out….at least until the air in someone’s room moves in the wrong direction…..and I have to get myself UNirritated in time for……………

Valentine’s Day!  And you just have to know that, the day after one of the most irritated days I’ve experienced since I’ve been alive, would be the very day when I’m supposed to articulate why I love each of these people who live in my house and drove me absolutely bonkers today! 

See?  God DOES have a sense of humor!

3 Responses to “I’m Irritated.”

  1. abi said

    Your honesty, and “down to earth” way of writing makes others who have ‘days gone wrong’ feel encouraged that they are not alone. I mean we know we aren’t…but somehow we give into the lie that we are!

    Just tonight I was remembering the quote, “Tomorrow is fresh, with no mistakes in it, yet.” So, despite today, we can take heart, because His mercies are NEW every morning…Great is Thy faithfulness O Lord! Not my faithfulness–HIS! What a precious promise! Love you, Allison! 🙂

  2. Kristin said

    Why is that men have to be, well, so *practical*?! It is irritating… LOL

    Every looking forward to the next great blog post 😛

    ~kjl
    (from qf digest)

  3. Johanna said

    I love your blog! I just found it when my close friend Joanna, who commented on yesterday’s post, sent me the link. I think people love your blog because whether they have 8 kids or not (and I don’t see that in *my* future!) they can relate to being a wife, mom, and everyday life the way you put it. I have had many days like you describe here and it is comforting to know I am not the only one who gets irritated at my kids when they breathe in the wrong direction at times!

    Thanks for taking the time to post! Btw, I love the new design, too.

Leave a Reply

