Tag Response

February 27, 2008

Okay.  I was going to NOT do the tag for 7 interesting things about myself because I don’t like to talk about myself unless it’s to make fun of myself.  See?  I even have trouble writing a sentence with a sensible number of “myself”s in it!   Truly, who really cares to read 7 “interesting” facts about me?   And I don’t think I even HAVE 7 interesting things about myself to relate!

But.  My MOM had to get involved in this, and now I HAVE to do it because she’s waiting AND putting me on a guilt trip, which totally works because of all the horrible things I did to her when I was a teen-ager and I am still trying to make up for. 

So here goes…….

1.  My first job was at Chick-fil-a which sounds all neat and yummy and so-you-got-free-nuggets?…….cool!   But really entailed me dressing up in a 452-pound chicken suit and standing in the mall waving at people.  It also involved me being hit on by every teen-aged girl in the vicinity because I was tall and they thought there HAD to be a cute teen boy inside the suit.  So that made for some laughs, but the suffocation thing and $1.23/hour-paycheck thing kinda curbed my desire to work fast food again.

2.  I played with dolls until I was 15.  Looking back, I guess I was being prepared for the job I hold currently.  But it just wasn’t something you want the girls at school knowing.  I didn’t have to worry about the boys because, to them, I was invisible except when they needed to feel cool by harrassing the tall, skinny girl with bird legs, thick glasses, and big feet.  Oh, and buckteeth.

I just want to say here that I have absolutely no idea of what else to write.  Seriously.  I am just that dull, I guess.  And when I asked my husband what else I should write, HE had trouble thinking of interesting things about me too, so now I’m REALLY depressed.  But he did give me a few ideas that are able to be made public, so here goes.  And just so you know, he volunteered the next one on his own.

3.  I am better at my husband at these things:  fishing, skeet shooting, basketball, and billiards.  And I am very proud of this because he is better at EVERYTHING ELSE.  And not only that, but the things that HE wins at are actually useful.  Like fixing computers.  And painting an entire house on his own, including building scaffolding 40 feet into the air so he could reach the peak of the barn.  And changing spark plugs.  And making our kids like him more.  See? 

4.  I used to have really curly hair, but when I got pregnant with our first baby, it all went away.  And it has never felt the need to come back in full force.  This is significant to me because it was the only attractive part of me for most of my life.  So now I have to work on getting a charming personality which is really hard to do when you’re 38.

5.  I have a weird thing with the way paper smells.  Every book I open, every magazine I read, almost anything that contains many pages of papers, I MUST smell.  Like, stick my nose into until it touches the spine and sniff really deeply.  The best-smelling paper products in the universe, hands down, were the ditto sheets that my teachers used to use to make copies of tests for the students at school.  MAN, I wish people still used those! 

6.  And while we’re on the subject, in the top 3 of Best Smells in the World is Vicks Vaporub.  I have a bottle by my bed that I open every night before I go to bed, and inhale deeply from.  They have changed their formula in the last few years, and it burns my skin terribly now, but if it didn’t, I would slather it all over my body and walk around like that.  And I would make candles from it and potpourri and Vicks Vaporub sweaters and upholstery and……..I have to stop typing now and go get my Vicks fix.  I’ll be right back.

7.  I used to have a major infatuation with animals.  I wanted to be a vet.  I had very few human friends, but didn’t care because EVERY dog on our block LOVED me!  Here’s something hilarious.  I used to want to have chimps when I grew up, to raise and live in my house with me.  No kids.  I didn’t like kids.  They smelled funny and they were annoying and they didn’t obey and they had runny noses.  But 2 months after my husband and I got married, all of the sudden, I wanted a baby more than I have ever wanted anything in my life.  And then we got carried away and had (almost) 8 more.  And now I write a blog about my life with a houseful of children.

And I LOVE my life.

And now I think ANIMALS are irritating and smell funny and don’t obey.  That’s some good irony, huh?

So there you have it.  Seven questionably interesting things about me. 

Happy now, Mama?

13 Responses to “Tag Response”

  1. M said

    It is amazing how quickly our ambitions can change, right? You moved from the love of animals to the even greater love of children!

  2. Heather said

    Thank the Lord that I am not the only one with a need to smell paper. I LOVE the smell of magazines, newspapers, copy paper..you name it. BUT…if I happen to run across a magazine that includes a perfume sample….then I absolutely WILL NOT smell the paper! I wonder if Bath and Body Works could make a paper-scent lotion?? Hmmmm…..

  3. abi said

    Okay! Now I want to know why in the world you thought there weren’t 7 interesting things to write about YOU?!!? You had me smiling, and laughing multiple times…which means there are interesting things about you! 🙂 Thanks for following through on your end of getting tagged. All I can say is that in this case…I’m glad I don’t have a blog…yet! 😉 Love you, Allison!

  4. Nana C said

    Funny!!!! You are interesting and as a Mom with your wonderful children and talented husband, I applaud all of you women with your blessings of living in a “large” family, there were 5 of us and we had times good, bad and ugly!!! God bless Love Nana C

  5. Anonymous said

    Well having known you several years personally now…. I thought I should send this…I was going to just send it to your E-mail address but decided all the woman that read your blog should read it…
    So here go some interesting facts that you did not share about yourself….
    #1 You love the Lord and seek HIS will for your life…You want what you do on this earth to matter in eternity….
    #2 Your husband is your very best friend and you seek to serve him every day as the Lord calls you to…even when it is not easy.
    #3 You give to your children and serve them with your whole heart…You put them first above being social and doing things outside the home.
    #4 You are very thrifty and makes your husbands hard earned money strength to the fullest.
    #5 You encourage woman that the Lord brings into your life in their role as a wife and mother.
    #6 You love your books
    #7 You are not afraid to read about something and then go and try it….like making your sons quilt which turned out so very nice….or your daughters dress for the Father Daughter dinner they went to.
    So there you have it…You are not boring at all….The things you are doing are things that matter in eternity and that is the most important thing….Your family will rise up and call you blessed….

  6. J said

    Well having known you several years personally now and you being a friend…. I thought I should send this…I was going to just send it to your E-mail address but decided all the woman that read your blog should read it…
    So here go some interesting facts that you did not share about yourself….
    #1 You love the Lord and seek HIS will for your life…You want what you do on this earth to matter in eternity….
    #2 Your husband is your very best friend and you seek to serve him every day as the Lord calls you to…even when it is not easy.
    #3 You give to your children and serve them with your whole heart…You put them first above being social and doing things outside the home.
    #4 You are very thrifty and makes your husbands hard earned money strength to the fullest.
    #5 You encourage woman that the Lord brings into your life in their role as a wife and mother.
    #6 You love your books
    #7 You are not afraid to read about something and then go and try it….like making your sons quilt which turned out so very nice….or your daughters dress for the Father Daughter dinner they went to.
    So there you have it…You are not boring at all….The things you are doing are things that matter in eternity and that is the most important thing….Your family will rise up and call you blessed….

  7. Tanya said

    I love smelling books and magazines. I also have an interest in Pine sol. I can not get enough of it. It smells out the family, but I love it. You have some interesting factors about you. I love reading about other people. I have curly hair and really, it is a pain to deal with. I have always wanted straight hair. All in all, you have some wonderful qualities about you. Take care and have a great day.

  8. Lori said

    Ali LOVES the way paper smells. When we get a new school book or another cookbook or another roll of toilet paper, she is there to feel how soft it is and SNIFF IT! What is it with you paper sniffing people? I however love the smell of gasoline! I know, gross! I try not to do it any more often than when we are filling up at the station and I simply leave the window down and conveniently have an enduring conversation with my hubby! Don’t tell him this though, he thinks I’m there to talk to him!

  9. oliveplants said

    I KNEW I liked Ali! =) I also LOVE the smell of gasoline!!! Seeing as how I seem to be pregnant quite often, however, I try not to smell it, and my hubby insists on getting gas in my van himself……bummer! So I don’t often get to sniff away at gas stations.
    So here’s a question…..anyone reading this comment…..what are some weird smells YOU enjoy? Just to make Lori and I feel not quite so freaky. =)
    Gasoline, paper, Vicks Vaporub……..anyone? Hello?

  10. joanna said

    Sharpies, tape (it’s actually really fun to play with tape, too but shhhhh, don’t tell anyone, they might think I’m weird), kimchi.

  11. Kristen said

    Gasoline, rubber cement and sharpies too! I think this tag thing is neat!!!

  12. Mama said

    Yes, you silly goose, I’m happy! (Guilt-trip you? Come on, now.) 🙂 But you left out TONS of things!!! What about the way you are raising your children to know and love the Lord? Or, how about the dedication you have in personal Bible study every day? Or, the way you are ready and willing to counsel ladies who need the help you can give them? Or, the fact that you are always ready to “give an account for the hope that is within you”? Or the fact that you show your love for your sister by calling her every week to keep in close touch with her? Or the way you show your concern for your brother on the mission field? Plus, the way you encourage others around you? And the way you share your happy personality the Lord gave you? And, OF COURSE the way you love your husband and children! There! That’s NINE and I haven’t even STARTED yet! SOOO young lady, don’t tell your readers there aren’t seven interesting facts about you! There are, as I said before, TONS!!!!! And you’re BETTER print this so others can see some of them!! 🙂 🙂

  13. Ashley said

    Okay, I’m reading your blog and I must stop!! I’ve been reading it for like 45 minutes and I must get other things done!! But first I have to comment on this…. I LOVE the smell of books too!! So much so that for our engagement my husband tied the ring to the marker of the new bible he was giving me. He assumed that I would flip through, smell the pages, and land on the page it was marked.. which was Proverbs… a man who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord…. did I do that?? Nope. He eventually had to open it back up for me to that page!! Anyway.. just thought I’d share! Now.. gotta go do something! I’ve linked to you btw… I think you’re blog is hilarious… I’ve gotten some good laughs tonight. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

