Ponderings

March 8, 2008

Last night as I was cooking dinner, 2-Year-Old and 4-Year-Old were being a little wound up.  As in, running and chasing each other through the house and then screaming simultaneously when they managed to meet up.  And it wasn’t at ALL annoying! 

The game ended abruptly when they managed a head-on collision in the dining room.  4-Year-Old then came running into the kitchen screaming and crying and yelling this sentence……

“You stinky maggot!”

Or, at least that’s what it sounded like to me.  And I did that thing that I don’t have the chance to do much, thankfully…….it’s a cross between laughing so hard I might fall to the floor, and being horrified that that sentence came out of my 4-year-old’s mouth.

And then I wondered about the sentence and how she knew to apply the word “maggot”, which has been discussed in our home a total of 2 times before Mommy had to put an end to the discussion that just HAPPENED to occur at a various mealtime or two.  And I remembered that she ISN’T a member of the mob, and she DOESN’T watch TV other than Sesame Street, and I don’t think there are any tap-dancing maggots THERE, so I had to rethink where she might have heard an example of that word used in a derogatory way. 

Because normally?  If my kids are angry and want to insult each other, they do so in a very I’ve-never-been-to-public-school-so-I’m-not-exactly-sure-how-to-be-supremely-nasty way.  As in, “You are being a big, fat evolutionist!”  I’m serious.  They do this.

And then my husband informed me that she HADN’T used the word “maggot”, and that she had, in fact, said…..

“You’re a stinky man!”

And I’m just not sure what to do with that.

6 Responses to “Ponderings”

  1. Linda said

    Hi, you have been tagged! Not because your 4yr. thinks someone else is stinky, but because I like reading your blog. Please visit my blog to read the rules, and have fun!( I think).;O)

  2. Kristen said

    My parents are living with us and we all just had a good laugh!! Thanks for the “live” entertainment!!!!

  3. Nana C said

    this made me chuckle!!!! I believe all little ones speak in their own tongue!!!! I used to say ” can’t understand you , you are speaking Dutch again!!!! Luv ya, Nana C

  4. Nana C said

    this made me chuckle!!!! I believe all little ones speak in their own tongue!!!! I used to say ” can’t understand you , you are speaking Dutch again!!!! Luv ya, Nana C

  5. M said

    Hi! I am so thankful she DIDN’T say “You stinky maggot!” Because she is a little girl, and is SUPPOSED to think ladylike thoughts, and say ladylike things, right??
    Thank goodness that your husband explained the REAL meaning of her words 🙂

  6. oh! TOO FUNNY! I laughed until I cried. the “you big fat evolutionist” is really too hysterical!

Leave a Reply

