A Warning……

March 10, 2008

for any of my blog readers who will have to be around our family in the next few weeks.  And that includes the people who will be in Walmart in a few days, and the other unfortunate souls who will pass us in the aisles of Goodwill later on in the week.

The kids?  So not behaving well.  And I’m not trying to be nasty and talk trash about my kids on my blog.  Even though I would SO be entitled to if I was that kind of mom.  I’m just mentioning it because I figured out yesterday why the behavior has been painfully unsavory lately.  Three reasons:

1.  Daylight Savings Time.  To the moms out there reading this, I really don’t think my expounding on this subject is necessary.  Just this one point though.  It takes us about a month to readjust.  As in, one month multiplied by 8 kids.  So it actually FEELS like 8 years or so.  Enough said.

2.  A new baby on the way.  This is normally not a big deal because, in our house, the years we get a new baby, we can just about skip every gift-giving holiday.  That’s how exciting it is to everyone who lives here.  But there ARE some adjustments that need to be made that cause………um………some moments of disharmony.  Okay.  Enough said.

3.  The rearranging of various small bodies in the house to accomodate newer, even smaller bodies.  Because we don’t have a 10-bedroom house.  So small children who have, heretofore, possessed their own quiet, tranquil bedrooms, are being transitioned to what is the equivalent of the Monkey House at the zoo.  Translation:  they are being incorporated into our dorm-like huge room that contains many bodies that sleep there and play there and don’t change their socks much there.  And the readjustment is acute.  Like, if you lived next door to us, you would hear that most mornings consist of various toddler unhappy sounds such as screaming when a crayon drops to the floor while said toddler is attempting to hold 27 crayons at once to make a rainbow.  And being made aware that she is able to get down from the chair and retrieve it herself because a) it is something that she is able to take care of herself, and b) Mommy doesn’t bend over anymore.  It’s an official rule in our house that is implemented approximately 7 months into a gestation.  The point?  For the last few weeks of this transitioning, the mornings have been spent counting down the seconds until naptime……BY EVERY PERSON OLDER THAN AGE 3 IN OUR HOUSE.  Such are the repercussions of the body- and crib- moving in our home in order to make room for the newest little person.

So please understand that when you come into contact with us, if you must, that we are not at our best.  We are transitioning or adjusting or rearranging or any other word that would politely explain why my kids are spending most days DRIVING ME CRAZY!  And it has nothing to do with the fact that I am hugely pregnant, uncomfortable 100% of the time, mildly impatient and irritated at various times of the day, and sleeping maybe 3 hours a night.  Really!  It’s not me!

Ahem.

6 Responses to “A Warning……”

  1. Mama said

    Um . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . after reading your blog . . . . . . . . . maybe we DON’T want to come visit after all. Do you think? . . . . . . . . . . . Just kidding! Will we be relegated to the dorm room with the children? 🙂 Can’t wait!

  2. Susan said

    O.k. I am glad to know that my children are not the only one’s who get out of sort when a new baby comes along.

    And second I love the part about the no need to give gifts during a baby year because they are so excited about the little bundle.

    That’s how my kids were today when Judy came because they knew they were going to hear the babies heartbeat. YOu would have thought Judy had a million dollars in her purse they were so excited they couldn’t get close enough.

    That is the best part I think about having all these children is seeing how much they all love each other and are so excited to welcome a new one.

  3. Kelly said

    I can’t even imagine! Is this an inappropriate time to mention James 1:2-4 ? 🙂 hehe

  4. Susan said

    O.k. I just read your mom’s post and could not stop laughing. I hope you don’t put them in the dorm room. Just kidding.

  5. Alyson said

    I love you’re blog. You make all the noise my 3 make soooo……well….nothing.
    thank you for that 😉

  6. M said

    I hope I am not on my shopping trip that day…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

