I Will No Longer Write About This Topic When I…You Know…Like..Actually HAVE the Baby.

March 14, 2008

This morning I woke up in a new and different state of agony.  Okay, maybe not AGONY, but definitely major discomfort that warranted spending the morning lying on the bathroom floor, counting contractions, and praying that the baby come during Rest Time when all the children would be otherwise occupied, or, even better, tonight.  Because every 2.7 seconds, some little person knocked on the door to ask me one of these questions or inform me of certain facts which otherwise don’t occur when I am NOT in (sorta) agony…..

1.  “Can I use glue?”

2.  “Child X is being a bully to me!”

3.  “Is the baby coming?”

4.  And my personal favorite….”When will you be done in there?”

And even though I wasn’t in labor, the contractions were not a bowl full of roses and sparkles and Siamese kittens. 

But, really?  The children colored and played downstairs and watched the littlest ones and even managed to make lunch, feed themselves, put the little ones down for naps, and fold a mountain of laundry. 

And that vision I had of someday being able to rely on my children to run the house and help each other out in case of my absence, ALMOST came to pass…..

except for two screaming fits by one small child because a sibling breathed in her direction without asking permission first.

15 Responses to “I Will No Longer Write About This Topic When I…You Know…Like..Actually HAVE the Baby.”

  1. Johanna said

    I haven’t even been reading your blog for long, but as I keep reading your posts about how close your baby is to coming, I’m getting excited for you! I guess that’s the great thing about being a woman. I don’t have to know you to know what it is like to have a baby and I get excited for everyone when it comes to that! You have many people praying for you out here in blogland!

  2. oliveplants said

    Johanna, and everyone else who is praying for my birth…..Thank you so much! It means so much to me to know that there are women out there who I DON’T EVEN KNOW, but who are remembering me to the Lord, and are burdened for me. It would be so cool to round you all up, and have a big huge slumber party, complete with chocolate, chick flicks, chocolate, and chocolate!

  3. Mindy said

    I think God gave you this little “practice session” so you would see that if this baby DOES come during the day, the kids will, overall, do FINE. Praying for you! :o)

  4. Ashley said

    I hope all goes well… this is very exciting. We have one boy who was born last July and already I want another!! Go figure! I LOVE hearing about birth stories and women who are in labor… not sure why, it’s just interesting and since I’ve been there (no meds, btw) I can picture more of what it’s really like than before! I’m praying for you. May God bless you and your new baby!

  5. Vivian said

    I love your blog. I think you are hysterical!!! I am praying for you and your upcoming birth. That it is peaceful and gentle! And that your children are otherwise occupied while you give birth!!! :o)

  6. Lori said

    I’m so excited to hear the of the arrival of the newest of the ‘H’ clan! Are you going to be blogging the whole thing as it happens? You inspire me for my next one!

  7. Nana C said

    Hello Allison, you are such a great writer! The mountains of laundry, yes never ending!!!! Then to put the clothes away, well your children are blessing you, and prayers are everywhere for both you and baby with the grand finale fast approaching!!!!! Yeah!!! Love Nana C

  8. Kristin said

    I feel your pain… well, not literally (thank the Lord! lol). Praying that this new little one comes quickly – but not too – and safely, and soon!

    ~kjl

  9. abi said

    Once again…I love how you put things! Did you know you bring SO many smiles to my day! Love you, Allison! I’m praying for you! 🙂

  10. Nina said

    The suspense is killing me…… I am SO thinking you have a new baby now.

  11. All I can do is sympathise…

  12. Leigh said

    It won’t be long now! I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time. :o(

    I know what you mean about the children, though. I’ve got an absessed tooth, and talking is agony at the moment. Yet…they keep asking me questions! It is so hard to be patient when you are in pain. Sigh.

  13. Kristin said

    Every time you go more than a few days without posting I start wondering, “Has she had the baby??” 😛 Can’t wait to hear the news! Praying that you are doing as good as you can be… and I pray that you will sleep well these last days!

    ~kjl

  14. Kristin said

    Okay, now I’m really beginning to wonder! Since it’s been almost a full day and my comment is still “awaiting moderation”. LOL

    Praying for you 🙂

    ~kjl

  15. Susie Wissmann said

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!
    It’s a BOY! 🙂
    Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

