A Headless Chicken Kind of Day

April 16, 2008

Tomorrow morning at 9 a.m., 72 real estate agents are scheduled to come walk through my house, take pictures, and comment. 

Okay, not 72, but it FEELS like 72!

So yesterday and today have been spent running around like a chicken with its head cut off, cleaning this, de-cluttering that, and just generally panicking at the state of my house.  I mean, do you KNOW how many crayon and pencil marks I have primed over in the last 2 days?  And please tell me if you knew this already, but they multiply!  Really!  A month ago, there was one section of the dining room that had a few pencil swirls.  Since we put our house on the market, I’m noticing more and more where I never saw them before!  It’s maddening! 

But here’s the part that I wanted to write about……

EVERY TIME I have tried today to get SOMETHING done, the newest family member HAS to nurse……RIGHT AT THAT EXACT MOMENT!  Even though he just finished nursing 4 minutes ago.  And it’s not like he’s not getting enough, and is slowly wasting away.  Actually?  I’m almost embarrassed to take him to church on Sunday because some of the ladies that were at his birth are not going to recognize him.  I mean, after they push aside his cheeks, and fold his triple chins down, they MAY remember that his cowlick looks vaguely familiar, but that is all.  His head is the exact shape of a basketball now.  With dark hair that sticks out on one side and makes you just want to lick it.  And his arms have rolls and his legs have rolls and his toenails have rolls and his neck is non-existent.  It’s embarrassing. 

I’ve decided that I don’t think I have normal milk. 

I think I have Ben and Jerry’s Mint Oreo Ice Cream with hot fudge sauce and whipped cream on top.

6 Responses to “A Headless Chicken Kind of Day”

  1. Susan said

    Babies are the best when they have all the rolls. My babies always look like the Pillsbury Doughboy and I just love poking there chubby littlt tummies. Good luck with the house.

  2. Palmetto Boy said

    You surely are a good writer! Your blogs are just so interesting, a MUST read each morning!

  3. amy said

    “I think I have Ben and Jerry’s Mint Oreo Ice Cream with hot fudge sauce and whipped cream on top.”

    That is funny!

    You are lucky he gives you a four minute break with milk that tasty.:)

    Apparently when my son was an infant, my milk must have tasted like buttermilk ice-cream that had been left out of the freezer too long…..:)

    I agree with Susan, all the little rolls are so yummy.
    I love babies little fingers and toes.

    Just a thought, maybe you could put some of that breast milk to work for you…..During your four minute breaks from nursing, start filling up some glasses (enough for 72 real estate agents) with the breast milk…..and serve that to them when they come to “observe” your house…. With homemade Ben & Jerry’s, chances are they will never notice any pencil or crayon marks.:)

    God Bless,
    Amy:)

  4. Lori said

    I don’t know if I laughed at your “Ben and Jerry’s” part of the post or Amy’s comment more….
    You are too funny!!!

  5. amy said

    Hi Allison,

    I got tagged today for a fun blogging game. I have now tagged you…….if you can spare a minute during your four minute nursing breaks, join in. No pressure though; it’s just for fun.
    If you want to play, just come over to my blog for the rules.

    I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    I hope all went well with the real estate agents….Keep us all posted.

    God Bless,
    Amy:)

  6. nana C said

    I saw you real estate sign on the way to Omaha yesterday, even 27 real estate looky loos would be too many!!!! Your new addition is precious and I had bologna legs when I was little, that is why you will not see me in shorts, well sometimes I put my bathing suit on, you might call it that with a skirt! I do wear , we used to call them bermuda shorts, they came just above the knee. Anyway, all of the ladies will love your boy, have a good Sunday. Love Nana C

Leave a Reply

