This Morning

April 25, 2008

It is very telling that I find this significant enough to blog about, but I just can’t help myself.

This morning on Sesame Street, Cookie Monster was sporting dreadlocks.  They were blue.  And he was rapping.

And now my children know that they, also, can be healthy dudes if they eat healthy foods. 

I realize that this topic has nothing to do with the fact that I am a mother of many, unless you count that all 9 of my children sat around the living room this morning, laughing at Cookie Monster, and wondering what those things were, hanging off his head.

Yes, even my 1-month-old was there, unable to contain himself.

And I’m still trying to process all of this.  Because when I was a kid, the coolest thing on Sesame Street was when the kittens went into the dollhouse and knocked over all the furniture. 

Also?  Snuffy totally rocked!

6 Responses to “This Morning”

  1. amy said

    I loved the kittens in the dollhouse, and the song too.

    “One, two, two little dolls
    One, two, two little chairs
    Two little dolls, two little chairs, two little girls
    And a little dollhouse……”

    Do you remember, “A loaf of bread, a container of milk, and a stick of butta!” 🙂 That was my favorite!

    And you’re right, Snuffy totally rocked……I used to get so frustrated that no one but Big Bird could see him.:)

  2. joanna said

    Yeah, um…we don’t watch Sesame Street anymore; it got weird. Sort of like everything else on TV. Except Curious George and Clifford, the Big Red Dog.

  3. I kinda miss cookie monster going nuts over cookies. In our house our cookies are worth going nuts over. They are made with apple juice instead of sugar and 100% fresh ground whole wheat flour.

    We often eat them in place of real meals 🙂

    C is for cookie… that’s good enough for me!

    of course now that I think of it. I do require my kids to eat a veggie before they can have desert. Last night I made a stir fry, the kids didn’t want that, so one ate a raw carrot, another a whole cucumber and another some green salad in order to be allowed desert several hours later. Maybe cookie monster is on to something.

  4. Nina said

    “….two little cats went on a spree, then sat down and had….some…..tea!”

    Amy, I’ve been trying most of my adult life to find someone, ANYone, who remembers …

    “a loaf of bread, a container of milk, and a stick of butta”.

    It was my absolute favorite! That kid saw some psychedelic stuff on her way to the store, didn’t she? Pure 70’s nostalgia.

    I also have a fondness for the Ladybug’s Picnic. Stylistically it went down a more country-western path, with lyrics that stayed with you all day.

    Never really cared for Snuffy though.

  5. Mother said

    Made me laugh! Isn’t it funny what we remember 20 years later? 🙂 Baby Bear was the cutest little thing, but I still think Bert and Ernie were my favorites. The way Bert … or was it Ernie?… would get So frustrated! Too funny! Sorry I missed Cookie Monster and his dreadlocks. Maybe I need to tune in to Sesame Street and enjoy it all over again.

  6. oliveplants said

    Oh, I totally forgot about the “container of milk” thing!!!! THAT was the best thing about Sesame Street back when I was watching it! How could I have forgotten it?! Also remembered the “One of these things is not like the other…” song. Loved that!

    MAN, I’m old!

Leave a Reply

