The Horror That Was Yesterday.

May 1, 2008

Yesterday was one of “those days.”  Not the kind of day when you can’t find matching socks and you burn the green beans and your 2-year-old vomits down your shirt.  No.  Instead, it was the kind of day in which I went to bed at the end of it, hoping that I didn’t make all of my kids into serial killers when they grow up. 

THAT kind of day.

Where you go to bed crying.  And you wake up in the morning and slowly realize why you feel so heavy. 

And you know that you’re going to have to apologize HUGE this morning at breakfast, and you’re not so good with apologies.  Especially to people that are considerably shorter than you, and some of whom still wear diapers.

That’s humbling, you know? 

See, yesterday, one of my children had a 3-and-a-half hour temper tantrum.  And while I will admit that there are times on this blog where I take liberties here and there (“exaggerate” is just too strong of a word!), I am not doing that right now.  And it was not……cry for 10 minutes, and then 30 minutes later, yell for a second, and then 40 minutes later, whine a tad. 

Oh no.

There were times that this child was literally LAYING ON THE DRIVEWAY ON HER BACK, KICKING AND SCREAMING.  And that took at LOT to write just then.  To admit that I actually have a child that is capable of such…….um…….OTHER-kid-ness!  Also?  An electrician guy was privy to some of it, and even though he was no more than 19, and probably had a good story to tell at a drinking party last night (“DUDES!  You won’t beLIEVE what I saw today!”), I cannot escape the reality that a stranger heard and saw my child throw a fit.

That’s humbling, you know?

So if there was anything positive that came out of the happenings of yesterday, perhaps teaching me humility was one of them.

That, and the self-control I found somewhere inside of me to not send her home with the unsuspecting electrician guy……in his trunk.

5 Responses to “The Horror That Was Yesterday.”

  1. amy said

    Our oldest son had tantrums, or meltdowns, as we called them, on several occasions. And it never failed that there would be witnesses. Usually more than one…….The worst one that I can remember was at this ladies first baby shower….I’m sure after getting a look at my son’s “meltdown” she was probably horrified at the thought of having one of these creatures inside her belly, or she just knew for sure that “she would never allow her child to act like that.”…….

    Anyway, about that “in his trunk” joke (which was very funny by the way), I have made comments like that (kidding of course) before and my husband would just look at me and say, “They’ll just bring him back!” 🙂

    I hope your day is better today!

    God Bless,
    Amy:)

  2. joanna said

    Oh, I know that heavy feeling you’re talking about. I’m praying that God will fill your heart with his peace today.

  3. Wanda said

    I, too, know all the feelings you were describing all too well. My first daughter was affectionately called “high-needs” and still tends to be. I remember when I wished that mandatory recycling worked with children, too. Like, you know, recycle them for someone else’s children and then when you miss them, “reuse” them again. Well, sorry about all the embarrassment. Remember that you are not soley responsible for their behavior; ;they have a will of their own, too (obviously, your child has a perservering will!).

  4. joyfulmom6 said

    I know exactly how you feel. I was just telling M the other day that we must have done soething wrong because we have had two children that have been known to throw fits. He looked at me nad said, “Be easy on yourself they are going through a stage and we will get through this just like we get through other stages.” I worry about the same thing sometimes that I have created a monster or something and I really thought that it was only our children who behaved like this. Thank you for being so transparent. You didn’t know you would be ministering to another mom who thought she was doing something wrong.

  5. Patti said

    OK, first of all, I occationally go off on my kids when they are having an emotional crisis, but I saw a different perspective the other day. I was at the local co-op and witnessed somebody else’s kid fussing at the check out. Mostly, it was background noise as far as I was concerned. I only began to stare when I witnessed the mother’s (or caregiver’s or whatever’s) reaction.

    She grabbed the kid’s wrist and shook his arm and used her “I’m going to beat you when we get home” voice to tell him to cool it. Then she hauled him out of the store while telling him off. Everyone was nervous for the kid’s safety. We all craned our necks to make sure the kid wasn’t going to be shoved in front of a moving car when they got outside.

    It taught me a profound lesson. It’s not my kids’ crummy behaviour that I need to be ashamed of, it is the way I react to it that will shame me. People are used to children having a bad moment (or 3.5 hours). Most people have had kids and have walked in our shoes, so if we get looks, they are of solidarity and compassion (and of course ” Boy, I’m glad it’s you and not me”).

    So, points to you if you didn’t snatch your kid of the driveway, nearly dislocating her wrist or shoulder and shout vile, explicit plans of disemboweling her while the plummer was there!

Leave a Reply

