A Mother’s Day Musing

May 10, 2008

I recently read a blog post from a mom who, for Mother’s Day, wants to WANT to be a mother and all that that entails. 

It was a sad read.

If you have read my blog for any length of time, you will know that, although I try to find the joy in my life, sometimes the dirty diapers and projectile vomiting obscures it.

But that’s okay.  Because when I look at the big picture that is my life, I find such joy in the role that I play in it. 

I do not need to find fulfillment outside of the home.  I do not need to try to be a man in order to feel that my life amounts to something.  I only need to do the job that God has given me.

To be a woman.

No man in the world can do the job that I do.  And although to people on the outside looking in, my job may seem dreary and boring and mundane and stultifyingly bleak, I can assure you that it is not.

Yes, there are some days when I am tired of the bickering and the stinky diapers that seem unending and the character training that never seems to “stick”.  But there are other days….MORE days….when the children play together with laughter and help the little ones put on their coats without me asking them to and offer help in the kitchen without whining and sound out books to a sibling on the couch even though reading class is over for the day.  And THOSE are the days when I am thankful for this life that I lead and the joy that it brings.  Those are the days when I whisper inside my heart, “Thank you, Lord, for giving me this life.”

I have been very aware, lately, that I have one chance at this.  I have one opportunity to be a mother to these children, and do the job right, and even though I DO mess up quite frequently, God has given me mercy, and my children the ability to forget the worst. 

I hope.

One day, I will look back on my life.  I don’t want to regret a minute of it.  I want to know in my entire being that what I did mattered; that I did my best; that I was the kind of mom who made a relationship with the Lord attractive and desirable. 

This is a quote from Doug Phillips that I received in my inbox yesterday.  It says it far better than I ever could. 

“Christian motherhood means dedicating your entire life in service of others. It means standing beside your husband, following him, and investing in the lives of children whom you hope will both survive you and surpass you. It means forgoing present satisfaction for eternal rewards. It means investing in the lives of others who may never fully appreciate your sacrifice or comprehend the depth of your love. And it means doing all these things, not because you will receive the praise of man — for you will not — but because God made you to be a woman and a mother, and there is great contentment in that biblical calling.”

I don’t know a lot of you.  I don’t know how you feel about what you do.  I don’t know if you wake up each day, dreading what’s ahead.

But I do know this.

If you’re a mom, what you do matters.  And it matters for eternity.  I am responsible for the kind of mother I am.  You are too.

On this Mother’s Day weekend, I say…..let’s do our very best. 

Let’s make it count.

I don’t know about you, but I want to be called “blessed”.

 

7 Responses to “A Mother’s Day Musing”

  1. […] pm Allison, over at Olive Plants did a wonderful job expressing a grand picture of motherhood in this blog post. If you’ve never been there before, she has an incredible talent at taking the […]

  2. Linda said

    This was good. I enjoyed reading your post. It came from the heart.
    Have a happy Mother’s Day from a mom who also loves to be a mommy.

  3. Nina said

    Wow. Just wow. And thanks.

  4. joanna said

    Lovely!

    Happy Mother’s Day.

  5. Mindy said

    I wholeheartedly agree. Well said. Happy Mother’s Day!

  6. […] A Mother’s Day Musing from Allison at Olive Plants […]

  7. […] A Mother’s Day Musing from Allison at Olive Plants […]

Leave a Reply

