Momma, Get Out the Kleenex

May 11, 2008

I know that a bunch of you who read this blog, have your own blogs.  It’s a cool thing, this internet.  Makes a writer out of every Tom, Dick, and Allison, even if we aren’t really that talented.  We don’t HAVE to be in order to chronicle the minutae of our days, right?

So if you do, indeed, possess your OWN web log, you know that you can write about anything you want to.  Which explains a lot about THIS blog……the vomiting, the diaper explosions, the maggots.  Yep.  Anything at all.  On the other hand, though, no one really HAS to read it.  Except maybe your parents and your husband, and MAYbe your best friend if she really, really loves you.

See, I know that my parents read my blog.  And I also know that it’s because they have to, and maybe even because they WANT to.  Which is the reason that I know that, hopefully, in the next day or two, my mom will get this ‘ole blog up on her computer screen, and read it.  And since it’s my blog, and since it’s Mother’s Day, I’m going to tell her how much I love her.  If you don’t know my mom, or don’t care to read my gushings, you’re free to go.  I won’t hold it against you.

I love my mom.  I wasn’t always able to say that.  I mean, I WOULD’VE said it, had you asked me in my teen years, but only because it was socially acceptable to say it.  But now?  She’s one of my best friends.  See, I can call her and tell her that I’m having a really good hair day or that I made a REALLY good batch of hard-boiled eggs or that I totally love the color that I chose for my living room walls…..and she CARES!  And she laughs and tells me how wonderful I am.  She loves me no matter what, and supports me no matter what.  You know, when she found out that we were planning our first home birth, she cried because she was so upset.  But she supported us and tried to get over her fear.  And when our most recent baby was being born in our bathroom, she was so excited to be a part of it, and she was so happy to rub my back, and she oohed and aahed over the hairiest baby that has ever been born right along with us. 

She is always patient and cheerful and full of kind words to say.  She never gossips or stabs people in the back or talks nasty about anyone.  She is the first to offer her help, even when it’s a non-glamorous, thankless task that needs to be performed.  She’s a good cook and a good grandma and a good driver.  Basically?  I want to be her when I grow up.  

So, Momma?  Happy Mother’s Day.  And even though you never taught me how to sew, I still love you to bits and pieces.  And one day, when the post I’m writing about contains details about my diapering adventure of the day, please don’t be upset that it will be about you and your Depends.  Because really and truly?  It will be an honor!

Bunches and tons of love,

Your bloggin’ daughter who is probably going to be in a lot of trouble for doing this

2 Responses to “Momma, Get Out the Kleenex”

  1. Mama said

    You got THAT right! You are in a LOT of trouble, young lady!!! Only thing is, I don’t know how MUCH trouble you are in because the words got kind of blurry near the end. Wonder how that happened? Really, if you believe all those nice mushy things you wrote (even though they weren’t true but sounded Great!), then praise the Lord for forgetting everything I, as your mother, did wrong while you were growing up! 🙂 Truly, you are a Rich blessing from the Lord, and Dad and I are so thankful for you and for the Godly woman He made in creating you. To Him be the glory!

  2. amy said

    Happy Mother’s Day!:)

Leave a Reply

