I Don’t Even Know What to Title This

May 14, 2008

Well, it happened. 

After 4 years of living in this house and, once a month, driving to the “big city” to do the shopping, THE QUESTION was asked.

The one I was dreading.

And not the one YOU’RE dreading.  It’s a different one. 

Trust me.

See, after 4 YEARS of driving to town and exiting the interstate RIGHT NEXT TO the kind of establishment that makes parents hold their breath while praying earnestly that THAT question won’t be asked……”Oh please, oh please, oh please!”…..the question was asked.

And keep in mind that we are mere WEEKS away from leaving this state FOREVER, and NOW the question gets asked.

Wouldn’t you just know it.

What?  Oh, you wanna know what the question was?

Here goes…..

“Mommy?  What does ‘exotic dancers’ mean?”

6 Responses to “I Don’t Even Know What to Title This”

  1. Momma said

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAhahahahahahah. I know. I know. It isn’t funny . . . but I sure laughed a lot! O. My. Stars! So . . . . . . that begs the Next question: What did you TELL them? Can’t wait to hear this one. Too funny – as long as it happened to YOU! 🙂

  2. oliveplants said

    Thanks for the sympathy. Next time, I’m going to tell them that when we get home, they can call Grandma and ask HER!
    Well, I had to restrain myself from telling him that exotic dancers were ladies from the tropics who do really neat, cultural, educational dances for school kids on field trips. Except that there were no school buses there.
    Really? I told him the truth. He needs to know what to look out for as he nears the teen years, and we want to be the ones to tell him, and explain it from a Christian perspective.
    It was the quietest the van has EVER been! After I told them all, I looked into the rear-view mirror, and they were all sitting there, staring at me with their mouths hanging open and their eyes wide. I’m going to remember that for a LOOOOOONNNNGGG time!

  3. Nina said

    Trying not to laugh over here… but sympathizing too. My kids have all read similar billboards, usually at the just-learned-to-read stage, so they’re excited about it and read out loud everything, and I mean everything their little eyes fall upon. i.e. ” Hey Mommy I can read that sign! It says GIRLS, GIRLS, GIRLS!!”
    And anyway, aren’t you glad he asked instead of wondering or coming to a misguided answer himself? 🙂

  4. Momma said

    Good for You! Hard to explain; but what a great teaching moment and yet another opportunity to give witness and instruction from the Word. Another great blessing you just gave your children.

  5. Heather said

    Hmmm…think I might know EXACTLY where this occured:)

    I find myself pointing out fields on the left when we drive into the Big City and pass this certain exit.

    While your story is hysterical, isn’t it sad that we have to explain that?

    Love and Blessings…

  6. Kristen said

    Sounds like you did the right thing!! I am not as kind as your friends though and I must admit I DID indulge in a laugh! =)

Leave a Reply

