Happy Rotting Bones. Now THERE’S a Great Title, Huh?

May 26, 2008

We moved to Germany back in 2000, when our four older children were small, and the other five didn’t yet exist.  (MAN, our house was quiet then!)  We were stationed for three years at a base in the lower part of the country, which is known as Bavaria. 

I loved it.

Let me say it once more.

I loved it.

Granted, the first year wasn’t so grand, due to the fact that it started with a drunk neighbor vomiting on our patio a few days after we arrived.

And yes, you read that right.  Vomited.  I still have the picture in my mind of my mom spraying it off with our garden hose.

Man, I love my mom.

But then we moved to another house in a little village 30 minutes from the base, and I fell in love with everything about Germany. 

And it killed me to leave. 

Hopefully, one day we will go back there.  I could live the rest of my days, and die there a very happy woman.  Even my bones, as they are rotting in the ground one day, will be happy.  Don’t ask me how I know this.  I just do, okay?

Today, I realized that I may talk about Germany a little more than I thought.  About how beautiful it is there.  And how yesterday’s weather reminded me of Germany.  And the secondhand store we used to go to where I bought the dress that the 3-year-old wore yesterday.  And those pliers I used the other day?  Bought them at the Obi in Germany.  And remember the time we were driving home from Legoland and there was a shepherd leading his flock across the street and we had to stop and Mommy took a picture?

I’m sure it’s sickening.

So maybe I DO talk about Germany too much.  I admit it.  It’s possible.

Today, I got a clue that maybe it’s gotten into the “too much” stage when the 4-year-old, who is still figuring out about God and heaven and Jesus, said this…..

“Mommy?  When we die, ya know what?  We go to Germany!”

2 Responses to “Happy Rotting Bones. Now THERE’S a Great Title, Huh?”

  1. Momma said

    You know, I had forgotten all about spraying off the patio with the garden hose. Thanks for reminding me! 🙂 ….. And with all your reminiscing, remember the time you asked the fellows at the German dump to climb down and get two crystal glass lamp bases that you gave to your Momma?! Thanks – still love those! Hey, what am I doing? It sounds like I love Germany too!!! Well, to be truthful, I do. It was a beautiful spot … but I STILL think I’d rather go to heaven than Germany when I die. 🙂

  2. That’s one place, I’ve always wanted to go!

Leave a Reply

