Chimes

May 27, 2008

I have a weird thing for chimes.  They make me happy.

Not so for my husband.

He thinks that Satan, himself, created chimes.  You know, right after he created projectile vomit and temper tantrums. 

My husband has spent a few nights of his life, lying in bed, complaining loudly about the chimes making happy noises on the front porch during a storm.  Well, happy noises to ME.  Evil, demon-possessed noises to HIM.

So since I try my hardest to be the wife the Lord wants me to be, I moved the chimes to the BACK porch, which is on the other side of the house from our room.  Which means that they are right outside the kitchen where I spend 23 hours of my day, so I can listen to them all day long with a ridiculous grin on my face. 

I know.  It doesn’t take much to make me happy. 

I used to have 13 sets of chimes.  Then we moved to Tornado Alley.  Twice.  So now I’m down to three.  They’re in bad condition.  One chimes with a limp, one has to use a cane, and the other one actually makes its happy noises from a wheelchair.  But I still love them and they still make me happy.

Well, I THOUGHT I was down to TWO, but yesterday, as my husband was cleaning out his workshop, he found another set that has the most beautiful, deep, soulful tones.  My parents gave them to me many years ago, and I thought they had broken during that F5 tornado in Oklahoma years ago.  I was VERY happy to see them again.  Like they were a long-lost kitten who ran away years ago, and returned recently with some fur gone and a torn ear, but back home nonetheless.

Now they too are on the back porch, chiming away happily, much to my husband’s chagrin.

But he DID find them and bring them inside for me to enjoy.  So I’m thinking it’s kinda like the cat thing that he has, meaning, he secretly LIKES the chimes. 

Just like he snuggles and cuddles with the cats in the barn when I’m not looking?  I think he snuck out late one night and restrung my favorite set that I thought was in chime heaven. 

He’s contrary like that.

2 Responses to “Chimes”

  1. Zum said

    I’m with you, girl! Chimes MAKE the home! You can set everything else up when you move into your new house but until those chimes are hung … it’s still just a HOUSE! Chimes make a house a HOME! They give style, character, beauty for the eyes and enlightenment for the ears. They say, “Welcome, glad to see you. Come right in.” They add class, distinction, harmony, love, and laughter. They …….. uh …… well ….. Maybe I’ve gone on long enough, huh? 🙂 Guess you can tell I like chimes too! Ting-a-ling!

  2. Palmetto Boy said

    I understand, I live with a chime junkie as well! Poor your husband and poor me!!!

Leave a Reply

