Father’s Day

June 16, 2008

Having a blog ANY day is pretty cool in and of itself, but having a blog on holidays is WAY cool!  (It’s also cool to have a blog when your husband is making fun of you or being mean in some other way, shape, or form because you can threaten him with it.

Not that I would do that, or anything.)

Today is Father’s Day.  A day in which we, as Americans, celebrate our fathers and their places in our lives.  In today’s society, their importance has been minimized and trivialized.  We NEED to celebrate fatherhood because it is so vital to raising up children who will be secure and confident in themselves and the world around them.  Real fathers raise boys who will one day be strong, godly leaders.  Real fathers raise daughters who will grow up confident that they are important in a real man’s life, and will not look elsewhere for that assurance.  Real fathers raise daughters who have no need to look outside of their place in the home to be fulfilled and loved.  Real fathers show us how important ethics and honesty and patriotism and leadership are. 

Fathers are not just important.  They are crucial. 

My father is one of the good ones.  He retired from his career a few years ago, but he doesn’t spend his days on a golf course or in front of ESPN.  Actually, he mops the floor of a local soup kitchen, befriending the people there as he works.  He takes care of the houses and yards of both his mother AND mother-in-law.  He spends time with his grandchildren and children and has a special day each week dedicated to my mom and what SHE wants to do. 

He’s knowledgeable and godly and wise and interesting.  He’s affectionate and funny and smart and corny.  He’s an 8-year-old boy wrapped up in a tall, past-retirement-age body.  When he comes to visit, he takes the boys down to the creek to help them build bridges and rafts.  He swings the little girls without them having to ask.  He dons a bandana and a toy gun and helps catch the bad guys.  He plays “sheckers” with the 3-year-old which entails placing checker pieces one by one on the squares of a checkerboard.  And he does this over and over and over again.  Three months ago, when I spent an entire day sitting around waiting to go into real labor, my dad spent the entire day entertaining 9 kids. 

By himself. 

I am still amazed.  I would’ve lasted 12 minutes.  They STILL tell me about the games Grandpa thought up for them to play that day.

See, my dad was a physical therapist before he retired, but he could’ve been a Game Maker-Upper.  (That’s a profession, right?)  Every Sunday afternoon growing up, we played games in our front yard that my dad invented for us.  No hide-and-seek and kick-the-can for US.  Oh no!  My dad came up with amazing, imaginative, rolicking games for the 3 of us.  And when we turned into moody, contrary, non-fun teen-agers, the games stopped because we were too “cool” for them any longer.

I think it took a few years for my dad to get over the disappointment. 

My dad loves kids.  And kids love my dad.  They flock to him like bees to honey. 

I didn’t inherit that gift. 

In fact, I could stand at the front gates of Disney World, a stack of free tickets in one hand, and a bulging tote bag full of candy and puppies in the other, and my dad could sit in a lawn chair across the street in an empty parking lot, reading a book of 19th century poetry and eating a bowl of broccoli, and the kids would RUN to HIM.

No joke.

That’s my dad.  The one I love, admire, and thank God for.

So Dad?  Happy Father’s Day!  I hope you know how much I love you.

 

One Response to “Father’s Day”

  1. Tanya said

    That is so awesome. It makes me want to come over and meet your dad. You are right about the down grade of fathers. It really burns me that the world looks at men as being so lazy and non active in the family. Thank you so much for sharing that. I will really give my husband a thank you when he comes home from work. Have a great day, from Tanya

Comments are closed.

