I’ve Been a Tad Bit Whiney Lately, Haven’t I?

June 22, 2008

It’s okay.  You can tell me.  I can take it. 

Okay, so here’s a Happy Post.

The 3-year-old has suddenly decided that wetness bothers her.  Not diaper-wetness.  Every OTHER kind of wetness.

Crib sheet wetness.

Crib mattress pad wetness.

Crib comforter wetness.

Sippy-cup spout wetness.

Sippy-cup CUP wetness.

Dress wetness.

Sleeper wetness.

Sock wetness.

What’s-that-wetness-on-the-kitchen-floor? wetness.

That kind of thing.

The weird/funny/psychotic thing about this whole Wetness Extravaganza is that whatever she adamantly deems as wet, usually isn’t.

But that doesn’t stop here from declaring it as such at VERY. LOUD. DECIBELS.

Twenty-two times an hour.

“MOMMY!  MY BED IS SOAKING WET!”

“No, it’s not.  It’s fine.”

“NO, MOMMY!  MY BED IS SOAKING WET!”

“3-Year-Old, I have checked your crib and it is dry.”

“NO!!  MOMMY!!  MY BED IS SOAKING WET!!”

“Your bed is NOT soaking wet!  I felt it with my very own hand!”

“NO, NO!!!!  MOMMY!!!  MOMMY!!! (and there is a blood vessel on her temple right about now, that is going to explode or something if this continues)  MY BED IS.  SOAKING.  WET!!!”

“3-Year-Old, your bed is very, very, VERY dry.  In fact, it is as dry as a BIG, HUGE, PILE OF BONES, OKAY?!”

And then she looked at me…….

suspiciously (like, did Mommy say something bad just then?  Is there something intrinsically wrong about using the word “bones” in an everyday sentence to your 3-year-old?  Because it FEELS like there is),

scared-ly (is Mommy going to bring out evidence of the actual dryness of bones?),

and quietly (like, I guess I’ll concede now.  I HAVE been a little weird about wetness lately).

Comments are closed.

