A Continuation of Yesterday’s Embarrassing Post in Which I Admit to Having Moments of Pitifulness

July 10, 2008

Yesterday, after the post in which I admitted to being a big, huge tightly-wound ball of emotional neediness, Yummy Man sent me an email in which he chronicled his phone call to the reservations desk at the base in Arizona.  He was calling to get a room for the month he will be down there alone.

Which means I’ll be here by myself with 9 kids.

By myself.

With 9 kids.

And no Yummy Man.

Okay.  Just wanted to make sure you understood my perspective.  You know, the one in which I’ll be alone for a month with my 9 kids.

So he told me that he basically called down there and told the lady that he wanted the cheapest room she had available, and if it WASN’T available, MAKE it available because my wife is losing it and I need to show her how great of a husband I am.

In a nutshell.

So she began telling him of the rooms she had that were for people of his rank, which is higher than the Hi-I-just-graduated-high-school-and-I-think-Air-Force-girls-ROCK! rank, but lower than the I-have-a-piece-of-paper-that-says-I-paid-way-too-much-money-to-get-a-useless-education-so-I-get-to-be-an-officer rank.

But he told her that he didn’t WANT one of those rooms.  He wanted CHEAPER!  Basically, he informed her that he wanted to stay in the Hi-I-just-graduated-high-school-and-I-think-Air-Force-girls-ROCK! quarters.

And she started laughing.

And told him that NO ONE stayed in those rooms.

Because you have to endure gang showers and gang toilets and this isn’t the Marines and this isn’t Boot Camp so WHY would you want to put yourself through that?

And he told her he’d take one.

And now I love him more because he is willing to take a shower with 14 other naked men in order to save us money and prove to me that he is determined to not enjoy our time apart.

And I don’t even want to THINK about what that says about me, and you shouldn’t either.

Because then I’d have to start crying again and I only do that when it is absolutely necessary, which is almost never.

Unless I’m pregnant.

Which I’m not.

I don’t think.

4 Responses to “A Continuation of Yesterday’s Embarrassing Post in Which I Admit to Having Moments of Pitifulness”

  1. Kristen said

    That is so sweet!!!!

  2. Mother said

    Are you married to a great guy or WHAT! I always knew I loved him – now even more-so. He is so determined NOT to have a good time while he is in Arizona (where it’s hot) so he can identify with what YOU will be going through alone. With 9 kids. That really says something ……… um, what does it say? 🙂 You GO, Yummy Man!

  3. Joanna said

    Aaahhhhhhhhh. Sniff sniff.

  4. Nana C said

    Well, if I were in Iowa now, I would come and visit with you. You are always in my prayers and yes, you are blessed with a wonderful family!!!! Love Nana C

Leave a Reply

