Joanna, Here You Go. You’re Welcome.

July 16, 2008

Okay, okay.

I give up.

You can stop bugging me about it now.

Since SO many of you have sent me emails BEGGING for more recipes, I will post one of our favorites today.

But you’ve gotta just quit asking, okay?  I have better things to do with my time, alright?  I mean, did you know that we’re moving to Arizona soon?  Where it’s hot?  So just give me a break already, would ya?

(Well, actually, it’s only Joanna that has a need for my recipes, but she lives in an apartment with 4 daughters and another baby on the way, which is the EXACT scenario you must have in order to beg mothers-of-many for new recipes!)

So here is our most-used dessert/birthday recipe.  It is simple, quick, and stupendously delicious.  And if you tell anyone that I am all about simple and quick recipes, I will deny it and make you look very foolish.  Also?  I’ll say that my MOTHER started it!

Oreo Ice Cream Pie

1 8 to 12 oz. tub of Cool Whip (or the generic kind if you’re cheap like me)

1 package of regular Oreos (and I DARE you to NOT eat 12 before you actually start making this recipe)

1 regular box of ice cream (the nice thing is that you can really use any flavor you like and you will get a different-tasting dessert every time you try a new one.  Our absolute favorite is mint chocolate chip, but coffee is pretty close behind.  We’ve never tried boring, I’m-TRYING-to-be-a-dessert-but-really-I-should-just-quit-wasting-my-time-because-I’m-really-a-fruit-and-people-get-mad-when-I’m-passed-off-as-dessert kinds like strawberry.  Snort!)

Put the Cool Whip and the ice cream in the fridge overnight in their containers.  Be sure to set the box of ice cream in a big bowl because some may drip out.  The next day, dump the ice cream and Cool Whip in a large mixing bowl.  Crush the Oreos really well any way you’d like.  (I prefer to dump them in a big ziploc and stomp on them with my favorite clogs.  And try to do it when you’re in a bad mood or are hormonal because it’s like free therapy.  Plus, it feels really good.)  Okay.  Then you scrape all the Oreo bits out of the bag into the rest of the ingredients, mix it all together, and dump it into a 9 x 13-inch dish.  Stick it in the freezer for a few hours and when you take it out, you’ll probably need a hacksaw to cut it into pieces, unless you just stick your face in it and start eating it like a dog, which you’ll probably want to do because it is JUST. THAT. GOOD. 

And that, my friends, is quite possibly the easiest, quickest dessert you will ever make.  And it will make you very, very fat too so only make it on special occasions.  Like, on months that end in y, ch, il, ne, ly, st, er.  Or it’s Friday.  You know, like that.

And just so you know, even though my mom gave me this recipe, she didn’t use the words “dump” and “stick” like I did in the recipe above.  You know why?  Because she is just too prissy…..I mean, ladylike.  She sticks her pinky out when she drinks from a glass. She cuts her bites up so small that an ant could carry it off quite easily.  She never uses slangy works like “cops” or “bucks”, as in “Hey Mom!  Look!  It’s only 4 bucks!”  Or, “Watch out for that cop, Mom.”  I mean, you have to actually apologize and stuff!  So I really needed to include this disclaimer or else I might get a spanking next time she comes to visit.

One more thing.  If you make this recipe, let me know what you think.  And please send any gifts of sheer gratitude for introducing you to this life-altering dessert to:  Olive Plant Mommy, P.O. Box 9 (for 9 kids), Soon-to-be-an-Arizona-resident-where-it’s-hot, AZ. 

Monetary gifts would be best.

Thank you.

4 Responses to “Joanna, Here You Go. You’re Welcome.”

  1. Mindy said

    I have made this recipe of Allison’s several times, and we LOVE it! It actually gets better the longer it’s in the freezer. I usually make it at least a day ahead of time. Definitely try it!

  2. Susan said

    We have had this desert before at Allison’s and it is the best. I have to say that my husband feels like he is heaven when he had the coffee one.

  3. Lori said

    OK, we’ve had this (these) desert(s) before, at Allison’s, and we really liked both – the coffee version is OH. SO. YUMMY., but the mint OH So GoOd TOo!

    Heather – the coffee version is one that you (and Syd) would enjoy making – easy and a coffee drinkers delight!

    I haven’t made this for A VERY LONG TIME….I’ll have to surprise the family with it sometime soon! Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Joanna said

    Ooooooooo! That does sound yummy! *ESPECIALLY* with the coffee ice cream. You are so generous, Allison, thank you. It sounds easy to make and probably won’t randomly pop and give you second degree burns all over your hand and face like oil will when you’re trying to make donuts for dessert and send you to the ER. I’m sure my husband will appreciate this dessert simply for a less stressful dessert experience. I think I get it. Simplify, simplify, simplify.

Leave a Reply

