Another Recipe. Sorry, Dad.

July 21, 2008

This is so not the way I want to go with my blog, but maybe it’s inherent.  I have a bunch of kids, so I must be a good cook.

Definitely not a given, let me tell ya.

See, my mom never taught me how to cook.  And I’m not faulting her because I’m right there with her on this.  To us both, here is the thinking……

By the time I teach you how to make tonight’s supper, I could’ve made it, eaten it, cleaned it up, walked to the town 6 miles down the street and taken it to a soup kitchen there, cleaned up after THAT meal, and sewn skirts for every lady there even though I don’t know how to sew.  You get the point, right?

Where was I going with this?

Oh yeah.

So I really don’t like posting recipes here because this blog is supposed about joyful things like dirty diapers and vomiting.  And recipes don’t really fit into that theme.

But Nana C asked for my pasta salad recipe and since she is the mom of one of my dear friends, I will post it.  Not that it’s anything special.  It’s just easy to make in large quantities which is a requirement here at the House of Children Who Eat Obscene Amounts of Food.

Pasta Salad With a Twist of Greek (I just now made up the name.  Because I am THAT witty.)

8 cups (or so) of macaroni noodles (You can use any pasta you like, but I am extremely partial to macaroni noodles.  And now you ladies will be privy to one of my many tips on raising a large family without losing my mind.  I found out many years ago that macaroni noodles were the way to go.  Why?  Because with all the small children in the house, I DON’T HAVE TO CUT THEM UP!  This is also the reason why we don’t eat steak or pork chops in our home.  See?  Aren’t you glad you read my blog now?)

black olives – 2 cans, pitted, sliced

fresh tomatoes – don’t even bother if they’re not fresh-from-the-garden – 2 or 3 would be great

feta – this is what makes the entire thing an incredibly delicious salad, in my opinion

Italian dressing – the oily kind….not the creamy kind – as much as you need to make it yummy.  After the salad has sat awhile, you will need to add more, as it “soaks into” the noodles.

anything else you’d like to throw in….I’ve put in chopped onions, peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, cucumbers….whatever you have on hand that would make a salad yummier.  Not chocolate though.

Cook the noodles; drain.  Run cold water over them.  Add all ingredients; stir well.  Add some salt and pepper as needed.

We eat this with a few loaves of homemade bread for supper sometimes in the summer.  Very yummy.  Very filling.

So there you go.  Now go forth and make pasta salad.

‘Cause it goes well with your morning coffee, doesn’t it?

Sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

