A Post in Which I Use the Word “Stressed” Way Too Much

July 26, 2008

Hi there!  My name is Allison!  I’m a Stressed-Out Mother of Nine! 

What’s that? 

WHY am I a stressed out mother of nine?

Um.

Let’s see.

Yummy Man is leaving in a few days for Arizona.

Where it’s……

Okay, okay.  I know you’re sick of that.  Here.  Here’s a new one.

Yummy Man is leaving in a few days for Arizona.  Where it’s a DRY heat that, apparently, is un-noticeable even when the thermometers are reading 130 degrees.  Or so you’d think with all the people who have not only told us that Arizona is hot?  But that it’s a DRY heat, so that makes it all better.

Uh-huh.

Not buying it.

Next up….our house still has not sold.  Even though it’s a very lovely house (and not just because I think so) and the barn would make any man salivate, and actually HAS, and the fridge is the World’s Most Awesome Fridge (and not just because I think so), it is still too far from the city and too expensive for the locals who think that any house for sale over $40,000 is for rich people who eat gold nuggets like candy.

We’re having a moving sale tomorrow, and if you don’t know all that THAT entails, I just don’t have the energy to tell you. 

I’m purging my life away because we will soon be living in a 1200-square-foot house.  And I really don’t think I need to expound on this because I get nauseous just THINKING about it and Yummy Man wouldn’t appreciate me vomiting on the keyboard.

He’s all anal like that.

Our dog is acting out because she KNOWS we’re moving and she is not coming with us.  Don’t ask me how she knows this.  She just does, okay?

The kids are acting out too, but they don’t have kennels to retreat into and litter boxes to eat out of, so it’s not quite the same thing.

And I just KNOW there were other reasons why I am stressed, but it is stressing me out trying to think of them.  And now I’m going to go lie down, even though I know I’ll get stressed out because I won’t be able to fall asleep because I’ll be stressed out thinking of all that I SHOULD be doing instead of lying down and then I’ll feel guilty and THAT will stress me out and so I’ll get up and go try and do some work but I’ll be stressed out because I’m tired because of all the stressing-out I”ve been doing lately.

Valium, anyone?

4 Responses to “A Post in Which I Use the Word “Stressed” Way Too Much”

  1. Tonya Lancaster said

    Well, if that’s all you need, why didn’t you just say so, I could have some to you next day air. I think my spasms will be fine with just a few missing. Personally, I’m not seeing that 1200 sq. ft. home with 11 people happening, and I don’t care how small they are cause usually the smaller ones require more things. Our 1st home was 1300 and I thought that was too small because it only had one bath. God Bless You Girl!!!! Oh, I’m sorry, I’m probably not supposed to be saying those sort of things. Whoops! What kind of cousin am I? One that will agree with you in prayer if you’ll tell me what you need. I’m thinking more room, but I’ll let you decide. Oh, and I’ve been there and yes it isn’t as hot as the south where we grew up, but make no mistake, it is hot and you’ll need an extra cabinet for a lot of sunscreen with as many as you have. I recommend the spray on kind; it’s quick and fast, and no spots missed.

  2. oliveplants said

    HA! I did it! I outed my cousin! She has been lurking for QUITE some time, I do believe, and now she’s OUT! Yippee!

    This should be a lesson to all of you lurkers out there. Olive Plant Mommy will track you down and out you so fast, your head will spin! Because I have Statcounter and it gives me your name, your birth date, your social security number, your address, and your shoe size. So don’t THINK you can stay all hidden and coy there at your keyboard. I WILL find you!

    Okay, my statcounter IS pretty cool, but it’s not THAT cool. I don’t even know your name. And I REALLY don’t know your shoe size either, unless you’re my mom, my dad, or Yummy Man.

    Which stinks because I don’t like thinking that all my readers have smaller feet than I do.

    Just sayin’.

    Allison

  3. oliveplants said

    And one more thing, Lurker Cousin……thanks for the encouragement on that whole 11 people in a 1200-square-foot house thing. Really, what you just did there is actually making me want to PROVE to you that I CAN do it, and I WILL do it. Just to SHOW you.

    So there.

    And na-na-nee-boo-boo.

  4. Patti said

    OK, the only thing I can add, is that there is apparently a ROLL-on sunscreen so that kids can put it on themselves without making a huge mess.

    So, you need to get someone from the Container Store to visit your 1200 sqft home (I’m hyperventaling with you) to completely outfit your ENTIRE home and garage with shelves and slidy drawers and retractable thingys to store all the many treasures your amazing family has. I bet you could do a “Save my Sanity” collection and all your readers could click on it to make donations to pay the Container Store person because I don’t think the psycho ward will allows you Internet access and then what would all of us do instead of read your blog?

Leave a Reply

