A Post in Which I Refute Reports of My Horrible Demise

August 19, 2008

I’m back.

Bet you were beginning to wonder if the potty thing did me in, huh?

Well, after the potty thing was resolved, we had a fridge thing.

Like, where it stopped working. 

And the meat got squishy and the ice got runny and my sister got kinda grumpy because she came to visit me, thinking she would have a fun time, but ended up going potty in a bucket and standing around the kitchen with me trying to figure out what we would eat until the fridge got fixed.

Because guess what?

We could’ve had the compressor fixed for free but, instead, opted to pay almost $400 to replace it.

Why?

Because Sears would’ve taken 7 to 10 days to do it.

And, funnily enough, I couldn’t locate that extra fridge I have laying around the house for We-don’t-give-a-flyin’-flip-about-customer-service-but-don’t-you-want-to-buy-more-appliances-from-us Sears emergencies.

I sound like I’m bitter, don’t I?

And I kinda sound whiney and grumpy too, huh?

Yeah.

Well.

Um.

I guess that’s it for now.

Have a nice day, and check back regularly for more uplifiting blog posts from me, ‘kay?

(I’ve gotta go take a nap.  Because my sister likes to stay up until 11 million o’clock watching movies and stuffing peanut M & Ms into my mouth.  So then I can’t get to sleep and after two weeks of that, I write whiney, grumpy, sarcastic blog posts.  Plus, every time she used the potty, she would turn the toilet paper roll around the WRONG way where the end comes out the bottom, and then when I went potty, I would turn it around the RIGHT way where the end comes out the TOP, and that’s just exhausting, let me tell ya! 

So basically, I’m blaming this depressing blog post on my lack of sleep, which I, in turn, am blaming on my sister because she doesn’t read my blog, which means that she can’t retaliate or defend herself. 

But actually?  I adore my sister and wish she could’ve stayed much longer.  And she didn’t really STUFF the M & Ms into my mouth.  That was me.  But she DID make me stay up ’til 11 million o’clock watching movies.  That part was true.

So now I have to go take a long nap AND lose 12 pounds before Friday when Yummy Man returns home.

I’ll write more later.

Bet you can’t wait.)

5 Responses to “A Post in Which I Refute Reports of My Horrible Demise”

  1. Mindy said

    Whew! Life can go on now–you’re blogging again! :o) Thank you!!!

  2. Patti said

    You have a dozen kids but don’t have a backup fridge? How often do you go shopping, every 3 days? Promise yourself that when you get to Arizona you will use your garage as a storage unit and put in a second fridge. You will wonder how you’ve gone thru life with only one. Besides, the weather in AZ is always warm, so why park your car in the garage? Here in the UK, only 1% of the population parks their cars in the garage. Do you know why? Because the houses are miniscule and there are no walk in closets, no linen closets, no coat closets. We are a conspicuously closet-free country, which means we have to use our mini garage as a large walk-in closet; one that holds an extra fridge.

  3. me said

    You’re right…I can’t wait! *grin*

  4. Johanna said

    It’s a good thing your sister was visiting, because if the toilet and the fridge had gone out while your husband was gone and you were alone with 9 kids, it may have felt much, much worse! Glad to see you back!

  5. oliveplants said

    Patti,
    I lived in Europe for 3 years and can testify to the size of fridges there. If I still lived there, I WOULD be going to the grocery store every 3 days with my little basket and my bike. But, alas, I DON’T live there anymore, much to my ever-lovin’ chagrin, and now I live in the Midwestern sector of the U.S. where humongous fridges are in great supply. I have the best fridge in the universe, and anyone out there who has been to my house and taken a tour of my fridge, can just jump right in here and tell Patti about it. The fact that the fridge comes with the house probably sold it for us. THAT’S how great this fridge is! And if we had bought it new and NOT from the scatch-and-dent section of Sears, we would’ve had to file bankruptcy. Or else we’d be LIVING in that fridge right now which might actually be possible, even given the fact that we have 9 kids.
    When I think about leaving our home here, I get a little teary-eyed and it’s not really because I have birthed my last 2 babies here and all the memories that this house holds. Really, it’s because I have to leave that rockin’ fridge behind! =)

    Thanks for writing!
    Allison

Leave a Reply

