HBTM.

August 21, 2008

Today I am 39 years old.

I tell you this because I realized upon waking this morning that this is probably the last year that I will freely admit my age.

When I woke up this morning, the first thing I thought was…..”Hey!  I’m 39 years old today!” 

The second thing was “I’m going to spend it doing one last purging of my house, supervising the cleaning and reorganizing of my van, packing everything I will need for the next 2 months into old diaper boxes, changing 12 diapers, and keeping 2-Year-Old from swallowing Matchbox Car wheels.  Yippee!”

The third thing I thought was “I think I’m going to do something special for myself today since it’s my birthday (Have I mentioned that?)!  I know what I’ll do!  I jump up real fast and GO TO THE BATHROOM BEFORE ANY OF THE KIDS WAKE UP so maybe I can go in peace!  Yeah!  Woo-hoo!”

And that, my friends, is probably the single saddest sentence I’ve ever typed in my life.

4 Responses to “HBTM.”

  1. Joanna said

    LOL!!! I can’t believe you don’t wake up with at least one kid in bed with you.

    Happy birthday. I hope you get to do something more fun than peeing by yourself.

  2. Happy Geek said

    Happy Birthday!
    May all your bathroom visits be quiet ones today.
    Yep, being a mom is one moment of glamour right after the other isn’t it?

  3. Lori said

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Allison, happy birthday to you!!! And many more!!!

    You get alone time in the bath? I only have 2 and I never do!

  4. Christine said

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, ALLISON!!!

    39? You’re right behind me. The big four-oh was in January for me!

    And peeing on your own isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be. How lonely that would be. Some song comes to my mind about one being the loneliest number that you’ll ever do. Yes, there’s tons of jokes in that sentence!!!

    I truly hope you had a very blessed day. Hope the welcome home for hubby is a swell one!

    Love in Christ,
    Christine

Leave a Reply

