Rubik’s

August 21, 2008

The other day at Goodwill, the boys found a Rubik’s Cube still in the packaging.

And they had no clue what it was.

The sad part was that I got SO excited, it was embarrassing, and snapped that thing right up before any other geeky 39-year-old could come over and try to fight me for it.

I don’t think that I need to say that I spent WAY too much of my middle school years trying to figure the thing out.  I never did come up with a solution that always worked.  It was pretty much a coincidence whenever one side happened to become all one color. 

So you can imagine my utter delight, glee and realization of my supreme dorkiness when I opened it up the other night, mixed it all up (while grimacing because it will NEVER be that way again), set to work on it, and finally understood how to get one side to all be the same color!  And since that pivotal moment in my life, I have been timing myself to see how long it takes me to solve one side, and it is less that 2 minutes.

And the pride that I take in that is just plain sad.

I mean, I’ve been making fun of my sons because THEY can’t do it fast like I can.  And I’m not a taunting, pointing-my-finger-in-their-face-and-laughing-hysterically-at-their-Rubik’s-Cube-angst kind of mom.

Really.  I’m not.

And then, when I called Yummy Man last night, the first thing I told him was that I had figured out how to solve one side of a Rubik’s Cube.  And that it was my special secret and I could do it in less than 2 minutes and he couldn’t so ha, ha, HA!

And then I had to go clean my room and make my bed because my mom was gonna ground me if I didn’t.

4 Responses to “Rubik’s”

  1. TW said

    OH!!! I LOVE Rubik’s Cubes!! I have three of them on my shelf right now, two “regular” ones and one four-sided one. I used to have another regular one, but somehow it came to pieces when one-too-many toddlers got to it. I used to know how to solve the regular ones, b/c my (at that time future) brother-in-law taught me, but have never been able to do the four-sided one. SOMEday, when I have time (HA!) I will figure it out. Probably by googling the solution. 🙂

  2. This past weekend we visited my aunt and uncle… he had a Rubik’s Cube. The Tongginator (my daughter) carried it with her everywhere. And my uncle stressed the entire time, hoping against hope that she wouldn’t rescramble it.

  3. Nina said

    So glad you’re enjoying your blast from the past. Isn’t it surreally cool to own something from your childhood? In high school I learned how to solve the whole cube, but only by watching a friend do it over and over, and I’ve long forgotten how. Sissy bought a knockoff of the Rubik’s cube a while back, and it isn’t nearly as much fun. The parts don’t move as smoothly and the colors aren’t as bright.
    I keep meaning to spring for a real one…. you know, for the kids 😉

  4. Tina said

    Where ARE you????
    I know, of course, that you are dragging 9 children to a whole new state, new home and all (not to mention how HOT it is there), but seriously I NEED to hear more of your funny stories!
    Hurry back, man.

Leave a Reply

