Boxes

October 5, 2008

My dad asked me yesterday if I plan to keep blogging.

Like, what’s my problem that I don’t have a new blog up every day or two?  I mean, don’t you know people are out there wanting the blog?  Mommies need the blog!  What’s up with you, Non-Blogging Daughter?

And I had to remind him.

2500 square feet.  7 acres in the middle of 4000 acres.  4000 square foot barn. 

That was Iowa. 

That was then.

This is now.

1200 square feet.  Military neighborhood.  No barn.  No attic.  No basement.

Pretty much no sanity.

In the past, I have prayed that the Lord would stretch our money each month.  I have prayed that the Lord would stretch our gas mileage.  I have prayed that the Lord would stretch my hair.  Wait.  That’s not a noble one like the others, is it?  Focus, Allison.  Okay.

I never thought I would pray that the Lord would stretch my walls and closets and shelves.

Yesterday, I was so excited because I could actually see the bare floor in places around the house.  I felt like there was light at the end of the Squeezing a Big Houseful of Stuff Into a Small House tunnel.

Then, Yummy Man found boxes that belong in the house, out on the back patio.  More boxes than I care to think about.  Pretty much the amount of boxes that could make me cry.

Really hard.

And then he had the nerve to be done with all of HIS unpacking at the end of the day.  This day.  Today. 

And he didn’t even BEGIN unpacking boxes until about 9 o’clock this morning.

Now that I think about it….he’s not so yummy anymore.  I think I’m gonna have to switch his name on this here blog o’ mine.

How about this?  Annoying Box Guy Who Has No Compassion For Box GIRL Who Is Responsible For the Unpacking and Organization of 243 Boxes WHILE MAINTAINING THE ORDER, CARE, AND FEEDING OF 9 CHILDREN.

Kinda catchy, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

