Addendum

October 20, 2008

One tiny thing I forgot to mention about “The Business of Being Born”……

It’s not a Christian film.

Fantastic message.

Well-done documentary.

But there IS some strong language.

And there is nekkid-ness.

So don’t sign up to show this at your next ladies’ Bible study or anything.

Watch it in the privacy of your own home.  But I’m warning you, it’ll make you mad.  When you see how birthing has progressed through the years to what it is now, and how the U.S. compares to other nations in infant and mother mortality and morbidity, and what doctors in our nation think of midwifery and homebirthing, it’ll just tick you off.

But in a good way.

3 Responses to “Addendum”

  1. Susan said

    I just heard on the news that we rank 26th in the world for infant mortality. Which is ridiculous for a country that is so modernized and suppossedly has such a great health care system. Makes you appreciate why you do things differently and more naturally, because that is how God designed us.
    I don’t htink I made sense but I know what I am trying to say.
    Susan

  2. oliveplants said

    Totally understood you, Susan. It is shameful, the state of birth in our country. You would LOVE this film!

  3. Trinka said

    I still believe in the cabbage-patch or stork theory. (depends on the season … cabbages don’t grow in February).

    Hey – as long as I’m unmarried, I can choose my reality in this regard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

