The Gym

October 22, 2008

Last night I went to the base gym for the first time since we’ve been here.

Other than that once when we first arrived and I took all the kids through.

Because we ENJOY being a walking freak show.

So.

Went to the gym.  And here is something that may lose me a few of my more feminine readers…….

I used to be a pretty serious weight-lifter.  Back when I was in college and had LOTS of free time and no friends.

Stop laughing.  Or I’ll come slap you with my flabby tricep.

Through the last few years, I have noticed an obvious weakness in my upper body and I just can’t have that.

When you’re the mother of nine, you can’t be a weakling, especially when you have boys that you HAVE to be able to beat in “Horse”.

Also, changing the bottom sheet on our bunkbeds might just kill me.

So I decided to take up weightlifting again.

In a skirt.

And I must tell you that I learned weightlifting on free weights and so that is where I head whenever I’m in a gym.

Let me tell ya….a 39-year-old mother of nine, wearing a skirt, in the free-weights section of the gym GETS SOME LOOKS.

I’m just sayin’.

But here is the main reason for this blog entry……

Posted above EVERY water fountain in this gym, and by the way, it’s Arizona so there are 526 water fountains in the building….

above EVERY ONE OF THEM is a sign that says this:

“PLEASE DO NOT SPIT IN THE DRINKING FOUNTAIN”.

And I stood there and thought about how they came about that rule.

Use your imagination.  It ain’t purtty.

5 Responses to “The Gym”

  1. Kim said

    I prefer lifting canned goods and toddlers in the privacy of my own home to a gym nowadays….too much work to get out of the house and be surrounded by near-naked sweaty strangers. You’re a brave (crazy) woman!

  2. Tina said

    Oh man, what I wouldn’t give to see a nice snapshot of you in the middle of said free-weight section in a skirt. With all the muscle-y men staring. FUNNY!
    Hope you had fun!

  3. Joanna said

    ROTFL!! That is disgusting. Water fountains are so gross.

  4. oliveplants said

    Kim,
    The gym is across base from our house, and military gyms are completely different from “civilian” ones. It’s not a singles club or dating scene. It’s pretty much military people staying in shape for their jobs, intramural teams playing/practicing for morale purposes, and the occasional spouse. My favorite exercise is swimming but, although the gym is open 24 hours a day, the POOL closes at 8 pm, so I have to do the weights. I walk as my main exercise but that’s mostly with the kids, pushing a double stroller full of huge toddlers to the playground. =)

  5. Susan said

    It sounds like you all are beginning to settle in. I think it is great that you are able to get to the gym and have some time for yourself. Keep it up and keep us all posted with how life is going.

Leave a Reply

