Kid Symposium

October 25, 2008

Yesterday as I was changing diapers, which, by the way, if you get awards in heaven for this, I just MIGHT be the ultimate winner, 10-Year-Old, also known as Lego Boy, came in and started asking me questions.

And if you just got through that first sentence successfully?  Thank you for sticking with me.  I’d give you a prize but there is no room in my house to store them, so my thanks should be good enough.  It IS good enough, right?  Right?

Anyway.

He came in, plopped down in the rocking chair, and began asking how people are able to buy things in other countries if they only have money from the country they live in.  And then that whole “when you rise up and when you walk by the way and when you change diapers” thing kicked in and I started firing off these EXCELLENT answers about money changing and the value of our dollar as compared to other countries, giving examples of when we lived in Europe, etcetera, etcetera.

Basically?  I was a Kid Symposium on Money Exchange and the Foreign Value of the American Dollar.

I ROCKED!

So when I had exhausted all my knowledge on THAT……which really isn’t much but when you spread it out by explaining it in a bunch of different ways, SEEMS like a lot…..I asked him why he was so interested.

And he told me that the Lego Dino Dig was only available in foreign stores and he was trying to figure out how to get one.

So then I felt kinda sheepish.

But in a good, homeschooling kind of way.

Leave a Reply

