Today

December 20, 2008

I got to do something really weird today.

I went out to lunch with two VERY lovely, intelligent, and aesthetically-pleasing ladies from church.  (Just wanting to see if they are actually reading this tripe.)

The weird part is that it was just us. 

Alone.

No towering napkin pile or 72 spoons on the floor or sticky high-chairs or the inevitable oozing diaper the second we sat down.

Just us ladies.

Speaking in full sentences.

And not having to wipe any mouths or noses or bottoms.

It was like being in a foreign land.

The Land of Only Adults!

Also, we ate at an Ethiopian restaurant because these are ladies that probably would never even THINK of darkening the doorway of an Applebee’s or Ruby Tuesday’s or someplace incredibly delicious  really unhealthy like that.

So I was prepared to eat Saltine’s and drink water.

But actually?  It was amazingly good!  Who woulda thunk it?

We had a great time of fellowship and encouragement and commiseration.

And then I went home and my children acted like I had been gone for a week-and-a-half.

Even the nursing one who, I was told, didn’t even miss me until he saw me again and remembered that he hadn’t partaken of the milk truck lately.

Because to him?  I’m the equivalent of a cow.

Except without the grass-eating and cud-chewing thing.

2 Responses to “Today”

  1. happy geek said

    I’m so glad you got to go to the Land of Only Adults.
    It makes your land (the land of sticky fingers, runny noses and crooked smiles) seem so much more fun when you come back!

  2. Lori said

    So glad you have an out with gracious women of Him, but it’s a good thing the milk truck is back ;o)

Leave a Reply

