Winter. Not!

December 30, 2008

I think I did something bad.

I suscribed to a blog that is mostly pictures of Montana.

In the winter.

So every morning I wake up to an irritatingly cheerful and sunny day, click on the Montana blog feed, and grow nauseous.

Why?

Because this woman posts pictures of evergreens weighted down by snow, and her annoyingly cheerful dog covered in snow, and her amazingly remote driveway covered with snow so deep she has trouble getting home, and the distant, incredibly beautiful mountains, replete with snow, and icicles hanging here, there, and everywhere, and one of my top 10 favorite things in the whole world……..

cloudiness.

The kind that hangs low below the tops of huge, magestic mountains that you can see from your living room.

The kind that makes you want to curl up in a quilt and read all day.   (At least until 7 a.m. when the kids wake up and start their noise and neediness and stinky diapers.)

I love winter.

LOVE it.

And there’s no winter here.  And even though I’m sure some of you would love to trade places with me right now, down here in Arizona with sun and 60-degree temperatures, I’d love to be where YOU are.

I’ve done the blizzards and the double-digit wind chills and the blowing snow and the blocked roads.

And I miss it all.

Really.  I do.

(Remind me of this in a few years when we get orders to Iceland.)

Okay.  Just thought I’d share.

Comments are closed.

