The Funny Bunny Story (Look! A Normal Title! I CAN Do it!)

March 14, 2009

I am delighted almost daily by my children’s emerging and evolving senses of humor.  No one ever told me how fun it would be when my children actually began honing and developing the parts of their personalities that elicit joy and laughter.  I enjoy them immensely!  Here is an example of this very thing that happened just last week……

We were on our almost-nightly walk in which the intent is to get the children as physically worn out as possible before we take them home to bed.  In truth, I wonder if it invigorates the older ones but I won’t explore THAT fascinating subject here.

You’re welcome.

So as we came to a stop sign, the older children on scooters waited for us to catch up.  While they were standing there trying to look intelligent in bike helmets, which is a pretty neat trick if you can pull it off, they noticed a dead bunny lying in a cactus bush beside the sidewalk.

Of course, being mostly boys, they pointed it out to me as soon as I got there.  When I looked at it from the vantage point of the far side of the sidewalk, the poor little bunny looked like he was sleeping.  He still appeared to be soft and furry and very bunny-like.

But then 12-Year-Old informed me that his intestines were spilling out so the possibility of taking him home to skin him was now rendered hopeless.

And let me just say here how much that fact relieved me.

So after I showed the appropriate amount of interest, I suggested we move on, while fighting off alternate suggestions of removing the bunny to a more feasible location. 

Like 8-Year-Old’s bed.

I figured that since we don’t own our house or the land we were standing on, it wasn’t our responsibility to remove dead animals from it.  Plus, I just plain didn’t want to.

And, Kim N., in case you are reading and are feeling the urge to tell me what a pansy I am because disemboweled bunnies make me salivate and not in a good way, let me remind you of a fact that I find necessary to repeat quite often in my house.

My eighth baby weighed 11 pounds when he was born.

On the living room floor.

Without any sort of medicinal assistance.

Just screaming and grunting.

Okay.  Just needed to clear that up.  And, apparently, I needed to clear it up in a Didn’t-Really-Need-That-Mental-Picture kind of way.

So.

A few nights later, we found ourselves on the very same sidewalk, peering over at the very same spot where the nasty little bunny had lain a few days prior.

And there, in its place, was a LIVE bunny.  Seriously.  Sitting right there where the OTHER bunny intestines had been just a few days ago.

And all the kids started yelling…..

“LOOK MOMMY!  HE CAME BACK TO LIFE!”

And that’s one of the funniest things I have ever heard in my life.

Plus, the fact that my kids have that kind of humor just makes me smile.

And wish that I had more kids.

Because I could get used to that kind of laughter in my life until the day.  I.  die.

4 Responses to “The Funny Bunny Story (Look! A Normal Title! I CAN Do it!)”

  1. Nana C said

    Precious children. Continue to enjoy the walks. Your posts gave me a warm and fuzzy today. Love Nana C

  2. raisingolives said

    They do get funnier as they get older. So much fun still yet to come. I can’t wait!

    Blessings,
    Kimberly

  3. Kristin said

    Thanks for the laugh 🙂 I agree… kids humor is the best!

  4. Kim said

    WHY would I call you a pansy? I have only commented on your blindness to the beauty of the desert and that does NOT include bunny intestines!!!! ew.

Leave a Reply

