How To Be The Perfect Guest

March 28, 2009

I think we’ve had more visitors in our first six months here than we had the entire time we lived in Iowa.  Which is quite ironic seeing as how this is the least visitor-friendly house we’ve ever lived in, due to all the tripping-over-each-other and stubbing-our-toes-on-furniture-and-walls occurrences.

You know, because we live in a very small house.

Even if we had a normal-sized family.

So last night, Yummy Man’s oldest brother drove down from Denver to see us.

Okay, not REALLY just to see us but it makes me feel more loved that way.

And I NEED love because I live with nine children in a 1200-square-foot-house.

Blah, blah, blah, me, me, me, blah, blah.  (That’s for you, Favorite Friend in OK.)

He actually came for Spring Training for the Colorado Rockies and we just happened to live here.

He brought his youngest daughter and one of her friends.  They are both 18 and the most gorgeous and kind teen-agers you could ever want to meet.  Plus they both had really thick and long hair so I tried NOT to like them, but I couldn’t help myself because they listened to all my children with interest and they exclaimed over the magic princess wand that 4-Year-Old showed them with glee and they flirted with 2-Year-Old who you just want to stick in your pocket and take home with you.

Until he makes a stinky and then you want to send him back IN A HURRY, let me tell ya!

The other reason why I couldn’t NOT like them was because 23 seconds after they stepped into our house, one of them pronounced our kids to be the cutest children she had ever seen in her life.

And she wasn’t trying to be a good guest or get extra dessert which was French Silk Pie so you couldn’t really blame her if she WAS.  No!  She was SERIOUS!  You could see it on her face!  My kids really WERE the cutest kids she has ever seen!

So I just laughed, agreed with her, and then had to hold myself back from taking her to the mall and buying her whatever.  she.  wanted.

Gotta get me more guests like that!

Anyone?  Hello?

2 Responses to “How To Be The Perfect Guest”

  1. Susan said

    I love that way you can paitn a picture with your words. I felt like I was standing right there last night watching all of this.

    Glad to hear all of your visitors are keeping you busy.

  2. OH! I do THINK that you have darlingly, cute kids! And I would love to come over!! Because I was one of those privileged “few” to come over when you were in Iowa! How I miss you, and how I’d love to come visit you, and your cute kids! 🙂 LOL! Thanks for all the how to be the ‘perfect guest’ tips! We’ll keep them in mind if we ever get your way! 😀 Missing you TONS!!! Love and hugs your way, Allison!

Leave a Reply

