Conversation

June 24, 2009

A conversation that happened in our van today…….

5-Year-Old:  “Mommy?  I want to listen to those CDs that are like……YOU know……those kind?”

Me, Mommy:  “Um, no.  I’m not sure which ones you’re talking about, Cutie.  What are they like again?”

5-Year-Old:  “Well, they’re sorta like………um…….someping (which is the cutest word in our world right now and means “something”) that has to do with the Bible……….and……..um……..they have stories and……..um………”

Very Helpful 7-Year-Old:  “You mean, BIBLE STORIES?”

Seriously.

That’s what was said.

And I don’t know about you, but I now have THREE children who can string along an entire sentence for 15 minutes because of 438 “ums” and wandering concentrations and the occasional daydream.

When we lived in Germany, it took us about 20 to 25 minutes to drive to base from our house.  One day, when our now-10-year-old was 6 or 7, I timed his extraordinarily, mind-blowingly excruciating habit of stringing a sentence out for many, many minutes, and he set a record.

He began his thought IN THE DRIVEWAY OF OUR HOME, and did not finish THAT ONE THOUGHT until we got to the base gate.

One sentence, folks.

Not kidding.

THAT is why I only have 3 hairs left on my head.  They still haven’t grown back from that experience and it certainly doesn’t help things that I now have TWO MORE CHILDREN who do the very same thing!

Longsuffering is being pounded into me.

Or is that just me pounding my head against the wall while awaiting complete sentences from the kindergarten crowd?

 

 

Comments are closed.

