Nursing. I Know. It Sounds All Boring and Educational But Really IS Worth Two Minutes of Your Day.

October 17, 2009

Many babies ago, I began calling the nursing experience “nu-nu” which sounds all mushy and gushy and irritatingly cutesy but isn’t really because “mushy” and “gushy” aren’t words that I generally use.

At least, not in the context of cutesy-ness.  Perhaps, however, in the context of diaper contents. 

(My mom LOVES when I post things like this!  She wonders WHAT happened to the lady-like manners she taught me long ago when I was young, moldable, and hadn’t met Yummy Man yet, who definitely led me astray manners-wise.)

Anyway.

I start this nu-nu thing very early when the babies are still small and only making gurgling noises so that when they get a little older and want to nurse, they can tell me.

Pretty smart of me, huh?

But the problem is that I am in a strange juncture in my life wherein I have gone the longest time yet between pregnancies to where it’s almost looking like I won’t have anymore babies (which is not something I want to discuss right now, thank you very much).  So my littlest man, who is still nursing, literally hangs off my lap when I nurse him……THAT’S how big he is.

And when he wants to nurse, he walks up to me, takes my face between his two fat little hands with the indented knuckles, turns my head so that I am looking into his eyes and then says very emphatically and in a surprisingly-deep-for-an-18-month-old voice, “NU-NU!”

And there is no getting out of it, let me tell ya.

I’m thinking that very soon, he will be asking for nu-nu after shaving in the morning and before heading off to work.

4 Responses to “Nursing. I Know. It Sounds All Boring and Educational But Really IS Worth Two Minutes of Your Day.”

  1. Susan said

    I think that is adorable. Nu-Nu.

  2. roundbelly said

    “But the problem is that I am in a strange juncture in my life wherein I have gone the longest time yet between pregnancies to where it’s almost looking like I won’t have anymore babies (which is not something I want to discuss right now, thank you very much)”

    I know that feeling… I had 3 whole years between my last 2 babies.

    However, we also seem to run the opposite direction, one of my Grandmothers had a baby at 50 910 years after she thought she was done) and another had 6 kids, then went on birth control. At 40 years old she changed her birth control pill and the doctors forgot to tell her there would be a risk. Boom- baby at 40. 4 years later they were done for sure and they had grandpa snipped, but again the doctors forgot to warn them about the risk period. And she ended up with another baby at 44!

  3. palmetto boy said

    Too funny! You are one humorous lady.

  4. palmetto boy said

    Go girl!!!

Leave a Reply

