This Morning’s Phone Call

November 1, 2009

This was a conversation I actually had with my mom on the phone this morning……

Me:  “Hey!  Whatcha doin’?”

Her:  “Oh, we’re just working around the house.  I’m trying out a new color of lipstick and I just don’t think it’s going to work out too well for me.”

Seriously.

That’s what she said.

Now, you have to know that my mom probably works harder than I do.  She is excruciatingly organized.  She spends most of her week carting around her mom to doctor’s appointments and doing stuff for my dad and generally running a house that has two grannies living in it and all their accoutrements plus my dad and all of HIS guy-ness.

And she is NOT high maintenance or trivial.

At ALL.

That’s why this was so funny to me.

But maybe not so much to her after she reads this.

2 Responses to “This Morning’s Phone Call”

  1. Mom said

    No, I think not. 🙂 Oh, Allison, you’re KILLIN’ me!! I know I must sound SOOOO empty-headed with that comment. But I Must explain lest you lose all your delightful readers because they think your mom is the height of egotistical-ness: Red is NOT my color and (although I have to wear it every now and then) I’m VERY careful not to get too carried away with it. I can hear My mother tell about Her mother who, when she saw a woman wearing a bright red lipstick, referred to her as a “hussy”. And I SURELY don’t want to be a “hussy”. … My goodness, I’m going to have to be very careful from now on whenever I’m ‘interviewed’ by strange women on the telephone! 🙂 Say, are there any other mothers out there whose daughters use them for blog-fodder? 🙂

  2. Mom said

    AND, just in case you’re wondering (which I SO know you are) 🙂 … the red lipstick looks wonderful thank-you-very-much!

Leave a Reply

