The I’m a Bad Mother Post

November 6, 2009

We’ve been sick here for the past 2 weeks.  Well, really more, but I can’t stand typing fractions so we’ll just stick with nice, even, plain 2 weeks.

Fevers, coughing, running noses, sore throats.

Times 9.

But here’s the thing and I know that this is gonna sound all horrific and terrible to you moms out there but I’m going to admit it anyway.

I love when my littlest ones are sick.

Why, you Scary, Freaky, I-Can’t-Believe-God-Let-You-Have-Nine-Whole-Kids Woman, you may be asking?

Well, it’s because when they’re under the weather, they spend hours sitting on my lap.

Just sitting there, all still and chubby, blinking pitifully and quietly filling their diapers.

And I get to pet their arms and squeeze their thighs and kiss their fat little cheeks, like, 100 MILLION times an hour, and study their chubby toes and adorable cow-licks and basically think how stinkin’ blessed I am to have the cutest kids in the universe.

Even cuter than yours.

Because usually, the only times I get to get this up-close and personal is when I’m maintaining their personal hygiene or being their milkman.

See, my two littlest ones are boys so there’s not much snuggling going on with them.  They’re too busy driving cars off the dining room table and throwing sand at each other in the backyard and pounding on the piano when I’m not looking.

So you can see why I love it when they get sick.  Not ventilator-sick or even antibiotics-sick.

Just plain ‘ole runny-nose-small-pitiful-coughing sick.

Come on.  Admit it.  You can relate, right?

 

5 Responses to “The I’m a Bad Mother Post”

  1. Kristin said

    Right there with ya, mama! 🙂

  2. Mindy said

    I sure identify with the being sick forever part of it! We’ve missed church for the last FOUR Sundays, and I’ve been doubtfully looking at the runny noses and listening to coughs this morning and have just about resigned myself to the fact that it is probably going to be five. Sigh. How long is it until spring???

  3. Tina said

    I can totally relate in an I’m-a-much-worse-mother-than-you- sort of way….
    I gave birth to 4 non-sleepers. Children that, as babies, refused to sleep for any long stretch of time. SO when they were sick, they slept. Nice, long, uninterrupted, HOURS of sleep.
    sigh. Good times.

  4. Kim said

    When my baby had 106 fever in January several years back, I snuggled with her in bed and it was like having an electric blanket it was so warm! I love being warm (that’s why I live in Arizona, where it’s hot, but not in January…well it was about 70 degrees on our wedding day 1/7/89, but that was just God’s special gift to me 🙂

    I love feverish children but those vomiting ones I could really do without.

  5. Patti said

    Please don’t tell child protective services or anything, but I really don’t like when my kids get sick because, of course, they need cuddling–all day, and I just get antsy as the house deteriorates before my eyes. I hold my poor, feverish, unhappy child and think about the dishes in the sink, or the laundry I was wanting to try and catch up on, or that today is actually grocery shopping day. But I can’t do anything about it. Because my little one is ill. And it eats at me, those dishes, that laundry, those empty cupboards. THAT’S being a bad mother…

Leave a Reply

