My Dull Life (at least that’s what the title WAS going to be until a nice lady pointed out that there is no way that I can have a dull life with nine kids, which I wholeheartedly agreed with and so now this title doesn’t really apply but I’m terrible with coming up with titles so I’ll let you pick what you’d like to call this post. I don’t think it really matters anway.)

February 22, 2010

So last night at church, a person whom I would normally label “friend” basically called me a bonehead because I hadn’t posted anything here in awhile. 

See how the “friend” thing would be kinda hard to justify?

Yeah.  Me too.

So I told her that nothing extraordinary or exciting or even FUNNY has been happening here lately.

And I blame it on the fact that it’s Arizona and extraordinary, exciting, and funny things don’t happen here.

Or something like that.

But that’s really not an excuse that’s going to fly, is it?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.

So here goes.  An attempt at a post that will satisfy the 8 people who are still checking my blog to see if I’ve gotten over my bonehead-ed-ness yet.

Last weekend, we went to the aforementioned friend’s house in the country.

Again.  In the country.

See?  I told you we try to make friends with people who live in the country! 

Our kids got to run off, like, 3 months’ worth of energy, and I got to talk, like 2 week’s worth of chick-talk, and we all got to eat a lot of potato chips which was very cool, and the guys shot skeet which pretty much made the one-and-a-half hour drive out there worth it.

That and the potato chips. 

So that was exciting and fun which means I should’ve posted about it but didn’t because something else fun and exciting came up but I can’t tell you what that was because it’s not for sure yet.

Don’t you hate it when people do that?

And no, I’m not pregnant.

Okay.  So now I can tell you other things that happened that were NOT fun or exciting so that you will understand why I haven’t written much.

We did school.

We played on the playground during our half-hour each day when that is scheduled.

We did chores.

Lots of them.

We went for a Sunday walk which we try to do every Sunday morning because we have church on Sunday nights.  These walks entail Yummy Man leading us all over base, wherever his Yummy Man-ness decides to take us which is usually 86 miles round-trip.  BUT!

We get to stop by the Air Force base equivalent of Seven-Eleven and get everyone drinks that they normally don’t get to have.

And that’s why everyone likes the Sunday Walk time.

So there’s that.

Oh!  Here’s something that you might find noteworthy.

Last night when I was rocking Large Boy Who Still Nurses before I put him in his crib, he accidentally SLAMMED his head into my two front teeth.  It brought tears to my eyes and I actually did my in-labor type of breathing for a minute or two.  And then I tasted blood and felt the imprint of my teeth on my inner lip.

And this morning, I actually have a top lip.

Because I normally don’t.  Just a bottom one.

Which, really?  I never even noticed until Yummy Man so helpfully pointed it out years ago.

While he was singing the “It’s a Lip” Veggie Tales song which somehow applies to me.

‘Cause he’s helpful like that.

And see?  Now I’m rambling and you’re wishing you hadn’t stopped by here this morning and now I feel bad for wasting your time.

And now you know why I haven’t written lately.

2 Responses to “My Dull Life (at least that’s what the title WAS going to be until a nice lady pointed out that there is no way that I can have a dull life with nine kids, which I wholeheartedly agreed with and so now this title doesn’t really apply but I’m terrible with coming up with titles so I’ll let you pick what you’d like to call this post. I don’t think it really matters anway.)”

  1. Susan said

    Love the It’s a Lip comment that your hubby said. IT’s a LIp, It’s a lIp’ It’s a LIp,lip,lip..

  2. Wendy said

    I didn’t mean that you should write about coming to visit us It’s the lip slamming episodes and Sunday morning walks that brighten my day. We’ll look forward to hearing about the fun and exciting but not for sure yet news.

Leave a Reply

