A Funny Funny

March 7, 2010

Have you ever gotten the giggles at suppertime from something that your husband said and you just couldn’t stop?

And your kids wondered about your mental state and your husband thought it was pretty funny at first, especially since HE was the one who made the funny but then HE started worrying about you too?

Especially when you starting choking on your drink because you just can’t laugh and swallow at the same time?

Yeah, that happened to me last night.

You’re probably wondering what was so funny that I made a complete idiot out of myself in front of my family, huh?

And right now, you know what?  I’m starting the giggling again just anticipating what I am going to tell you that Yummy Man said. 

He started calling “Anne of Green Gables”, “Anne of Green Gerbils”.

And now tears are running down my face because it’s started again.

The uncontrollable giggles.

And you’re probably sitting there with a blank face wondering when the funny is coming, aren’t you?

Come on.  It’s KINDA funny.

Isn’t it?

4 Responses to “A Funny Funny”

  1. Patti said

    Are you by any chance suffering from sleep deprivation?

  2. oliveplants said

    Actually, Patti, I’m not. I think after 20 years with this man, I’m slowly becoming him which means that I find corny, childish, stupid jokes pretty stinkin’ funny from time to time. I’ve fought it for 20 years, but my resolve has weakened and I find myself totally going with his sense of humor which scares and horrifies me. But in a good way. Hey, here’s a man who still tells me I’m “hot” even after 11 pregnancies, nine kids, and nine nursing babies, and I didn’t even mention the fact that I’m 40. So how can you NOT love him and even succumb to his wacky sense of humor on days when you’re feeling a little wacky yourself? I mean, really.
    And please don’t stop reading, Patti. Seriously. I need all the support I can get.
    Thank you.

  3. Patti said

    you are seriously blessed! and the best part of that, is that you know it. Rock on Sister!!

  4. Charity said

    Hi, finally de-lurking here. I LOVE your blog, and your sometimes weird, sarcastic sense of humor! I am very disappointed when I check your blog and you haven’t written anything new. Please keep writing!

    And for the record… I thought “Anne of Green Gerbils” was funny too! 🙂 No, I didn’t start giggling, but a huge smile spread across my face as I read (you know the kind you can’t stop), and a very unladylike snort may have escaped me… 😉

    God bless you and your family!
    ~Charity

Leave a Reply

