Merry Christmas!

May 2, 2010

The next time I will be saying that will be accompanied by lots of crying, LOADS of whining, and 30 to 40 extra pounds.

Because this Christmas, we aren’t taking our kids to Legoland and Sea World like last Christmas.

This Christmas, we’re going to have a new baby instead.

We’re hoping that we can just skip presents and convince the kids that the baby is WAY better than Polly Pockets and Legos and stuff.

So for those of you who don’t live in states that directly border Arizona and didn’t hear our church congregation yelling, clapping, and maybe even whistling when we announced our new status last Sunday, there you have it.

It sure took long enough, didn’t it?  That’s the longest I’ve ever been between pregnancies, but the Lord held it off so that I could fit in a family reunion wherein it became extraordinarily clear that I will now be the only sibling who is NOT a foreign missionary and so will be known from henceforth as Heathen Child to my parents, AND I was able to attend the funeral of my Granny Gumdrops who I loved so much, I gave her a nickname that is derived from candy, no less.

Wow.  Run-on sentences RULE!

Those of you who have been reading my blog for a few years are now very scared and probably a little dejected.

Because you know what’s coming.

I don’t do pregnancy well.

I get whiney and pathetic and cry-babyish.

Which is kinda ironic because I’m not usually a cry-er unless the commissary runs out of egg nog around the holidays.

So in a month or so, I will get REALLY.  SICK.  and you may not hear from me unless I figure out how to translate my utter misery into actual language instead of moans and tears.  Then after that, I’ll be good for another few months but in my last trimester……

I’m warning you……

It’s going to get bad.

Because even after nine births, labor scares me.

To death.

And I freely admit that because I’m all honest and noble and REAL like that.

Or else I just want everyone to know that THAT is the reason I’ll be turning into a complete and utter wimp and loser.

And I will blog about that fear and it will entail lots of eye-rolling on your part and wishing that you didn’t know me and commenting that you are so sick of hearing me whine and moan and you may even want to delete my blog from your favorites but you just can’t do that, Mom and Dad! 

And as an aside here, after writing this post, it has occurred to me that the timing of this pregnancy is providential, other than the OBVIOUS ways.

Why, you ask?

Because right around the time I’ll be getting REALLY uncomfortable and irritated and whale-like, egg nog will magically appear in the grocery stores!

And if you just started reading this here blog and you don’t know about my obsession with egg nog, then just click here.

I think that I will have to incorporate that into my birth plan, as a matter of fact.

“Whenever I start moaning, bring more egg nog.”

9 Responses to “Merry Christmas!”

  1. Yea!!! Congrats!!! We cannot wait to see pics of the newest baby when they come!

  2. Patti said

    What a blessing for us that you, a good mother, are having another baby! That TOTALLY takes the pressure off of me, a mediocre mom, from having another! See, when great parents have kids, then in turn, those kids become great parents to great kids who then go on to becoming great parents to great kids…do you see the exponetial value in you having another child? Thank you!

  3. Kristin said

    Congrats!!! I’m due with #7 around the end of Nov/beginning of Dec (depends on if you believe my dates, or the doc). So, I’ll be with you on the journey through the sickies… oh, wait, hopefully I’ll be done with mine by the time you start, since it’s been almost 4 weeks already, and started 2 weeks earlier than normal. Ugh. Again, congrats! And, I’ll be praying for you. “)

  4. Candra Braham said

    We are so excited for you all, Allison! 🙂 (well, not about the getting real sick & labor fears, but for sure about the sweet new little one God’s growing inside of you!) 🙂

  5. Cheyrl Fleener said

    congrats…..prayers are with you and much happiness for the whole family love nana C

  6. Wanda Opitz said

    Congratulations, Allison! We are having our 6th this Aug, I think about you a lot and glad things are good! Sorry about your grandma, I miss mine, too, and I got pregnant with this baby a month after she died. We must be living parallel lives, except that I’m only going on 6 and not 10, yet!

  7. Happy Geek said

    Just catching up on blogs.
    CONGRATS!!!!!!!
    Except not about the labour. That stinks. But the baby part, that’s awesome.

  8. Round Belly said

    wow- everyone I know this year is pregnant- except for me. (and that is strange, because I have the most kids of almost everyone I know)… but I’m getting a new house this year- so I guess the baby will have wait.

    If you need another 6 gore skirt… just let me know I have a lady who still makes them

  9. Trina said

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!! That’s awesome news! I’m very happy for you and your family! I’m glad you’re feeling so sick, but hope that it ends pretty soon. We’ll be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

