Yeah. I Really Did.

May 14, 2010

Before I begin this post, let me just state that I completely understand the utter unbelievability of what I am about to write.

I get that you will laugh and roll your eyes at me and think I’ve lost my mind.

But I have a weirdly compelling urge to write it anyway.

Last night, I felt the baby move twice.

I’m not even 8 weeks along.

THIS is where the disbelieving cynic in you now has my permission to stand up, point at me, and laugh hysterically.

Go ahead.  You know you want to.

It’s okay.  I can take it.

But let me ask you this one thing…….

How many women do you know personally who have actually taken the opportunity to be put into a position, MORE THAN TEN TIMES,  where a baby is able to be felt kicking inside her body?

Really.  How many?

So.  Tryin’ to be nice here and all, but you can’t really laugh at me now, can you?

Because this having-babies thing?  It’s kinda my expertise.

My first baby, I felt at 14 weeks.  That’s unheard of.  I’ve felt other ones at 11 weeks.

It’s just a special gift I have, I guess. I should have t-shirts made.

So I tell this to Yummy Man last night. Very hesitantly, I might add.

And guess what?  He didn’t believe me!

He asked me a number of questions, trying to verify the validity of this thing that happened inside of me and here is the conclusion he so intelligently made.

“You must’ve been feeling cell replication.”

Really?  And THAT is more believable than me feeling the baby move at almost 8 weeks?

It’s like atheists who decide to believe that elephants came from manatees who came from primordial soup millions and millions of years ago.  Yep, just crawled out of the ocean and somehow grew tusks and  trunks and an affinity for peanuts.

Somehow, THAT is more believable than God actually creating the world and all that is in it?

See the correlation there between my feeling the baby and atheists?

If not, you may want to read that elephant paragraph again.  I know I had to.

4 Responses to “Yeah. I Really Did.”

  1. Kristin said

    I felt my first move at 12 weeks. My cousin, who had twins the year before, scoffed and said it wasn’t possible. Having experienced 5 (now 6) pregnancies since, I KNOW that’s what I felt. I believe you… and I’m a bit envious. Maybe if I felt this baby move I wouldn’t feel so bad about all the nausea and exhaustion… LOL

  2. Susan said

    Well if you felt the baby move all ready that is amazing. My earliest was Elias and I think that was a gift from the Lord. You are amazing.

  3. Mindy said

    That’s great! I think that’s one of the most wonderful feelings in the world, whether it’s the first time or the ten-thousandth time!

  4. cheryll said

    Good for you. I believe you.

Leave a Reply

