Unbelievable

May 16, 2010

We don’t get a lot of excitement or drama around here.

Case in point……..

This evening, one small child ran in from the backyard to breathlessly inform me that there was icky laying on the ground outside and that more of it was pouring out of 2-Year-Old’s diaper.

When I opened the back door and walked outside to assess the situation, here is what I saw………

FIVE of our precious smallish and not-so-smallish children, bent over at the waist, noses within inches of one pair of the cutest, chubbiest thighs you have ever seen, underneath a full, drooping diaper with icky oozing out the back and down his legs.

But wait!

That’s not all!

Here’s the rest of the story…….

Eleven-Year-Old was taking pictures.

With.

The.

Zoom.

Okay.

NOW I’m done.

(By the way, I considered posting those pictures for your viewing pleasure and because I’m just thoughtful that way, but I love my mom……like…..TONS, and I don’t really want to go to her funeral for 20 more years or so.  I know.  I can feel your disappointment.  Please try to understand.)

Also?  (You thought I was done, didn’t you?  Yeah.  Me too.)

When I asked 13-Year-Old to run inside, get some paper towels, and scoop the icky off the ground and throw it away, he almost had a coronary.

But I really didn’t feel like I was asking too much of this child.

Why?

Because this is the same kid who used to scoop ROAD KILL off the highway that had been laying there so long it was rigid and FILLED WITH MAGGOTS, and take it home and gut it and skin it ON THE PICNIC TABLE.

And he had a problem with a couple quarter-sized piles of icky in the backyard?

Come!  On!

Kids these days!

One Response to “Unbelievable”

  1. Mother said

    11-year old taking PICTURES?! You’ve GOT to be kidding! Oh my stars.

Leave a Reply

