Big News Here, In Case You Haven’t Heard

June 10, 2010

But first, let me say that the reason I have neglected this blog is two-fold.

One, I have been really, stinkin’ sick with this small child within my loins.  I’m tellin’ ya, each time I do this, it gets worse.

You’d think I’d learn, huh?

So I’ve been busy NOT vomiting, taking lots of baths, lying on the couch, and moaning.

Yeah.  Moaning.  I used to wonder what moaning was for…..like, why did God make moaning, and now I know.

Plus, when you moan in the tub, it bounces off the tiles and makes you feel like the noise is actually helping your extreme nausea.

I know.  This post is just not a good one, is it?

But it’s ABOUT to get better.

For me, at least.

The other reason why I have not been blogging is because I’ve been doing a ton of research on a certain city.

Because we have obtained orders.

Are you sitting down?

Good.

We got orders to Fairbanks.

As in, Alaska.

I know.  Stunning, isn’t it?

Here’s the way I know now, beyond the shadow of a doubt, that God has a sense of humor……

He is taking us from one of the top three hottest places in the United States, to THE coldest place in the United States.

And I’m totally lovin’ that.

And yes, I know that it gets down to -50 degrees, but you know what?

IT’S A DRY COLD.

Seriously!

So there you have it.  You can pick yourself up off the floor now.

And start praying for us all because we’ll be driving there this fall.

For eleven days.

In a van.

With nine kids.

Oh.  My.

6 Responses to “Big News Here, In Case You Haven’t Heard”

  1. Ummm….I’m highly confused by your comment, but can’t tell if I’M having a mom-brain moment, or YOU are. Email me and explain, LOL? 🙂

  2. Celi said

    Wow! I was visiting your blog to ask you if your hubby gave you the Rhea’s herbals I sent him with on my last visit to Tucson…and now, you’re leaving!! Amazing! Well, my friend, in the brief time we’ve known each other I have been truly blessed by it. May God grant you much strength and grace on the travels to Alaska. And I leave you with this, today my son asked if we could move to the south pole “because the weather is better” than Phoenix.

  3. Cheryll said

    Congrats!! I am so happy for you! Wish you all the best! Gotta post pics of Alaska!

    Cheryll

  4. Tina said

    Wow! Alaska is so pretty, I am envious. Sort of. Brrr.

  5. Mom said

    OK. So … NOW you’re going to start talking about Alaska, where it’s COLD! Cold. Hot. Cold. Hot. Why can’t you make up your mind?! 🙂 You’re going to love it! Not the trip in the van with nine children of course. I meant Alaska. 🙂

  6. littlesiesta said

    My dad told us about your upcoming move. Alaska!! I have always be enamored by the thought of such a cold, wintry state. I share your appreciation for cooler weather and your disdain of the heat! I see you are moving in the fall? I was hoping maybe we would be able to see you on your journey if we are still in Oregon. If your move is scheduled for this month, let me know.

Leave a Reply

