Oral Surgeons and Awesome Blog Readers (That’s YOU!)

July 15, 2010

So I feel like the general consensus on this here blog is that y’all think I should NOT give Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Oral Surgeon the pleasure of working in my tiny little mouth.

So I won’t.

Because I love y’all just.  that.  much.  Because even though some of you don’t even KNOW me, you still stuck up for me and my sometimes irrational feelings and embarrassing tears and told me that my prideful idea of making this guy do the surgery was just…..well……DUMB.

And I agree with you.  Now that I’m being rational and stuff.

So IF the military forces me to do this thing, I have a loving, gentle, and kind oral surgeon lined up who will hopefully coddle me and hold my hand and let me be pitiful and needy in his office while making sure that I feel no pain whatsoever.

Or pretty close.

I hope.

In other news, just in case any of you have wondered how well Blackberries do in the washing machine, let me just say that we conducted an experiment here at the house and I can say with all authority and assurance that they do not do well.

Really, when I opened the washer, I saw my poor little Blackberry lying on the bottom of the washer with its green light weakly shining, signaling to me distress and pain and imminent death.  I think I even heard a little Blackberry moan and then a small Blackberry sigh.  So no.  I don’t recommend washing your Blackberry in that manner.

Even if you feel the need to sacrifice a nice phone like that for the sake of your children’s scientific education.

Because, you know.  That’s why I did it.

3 Responses to “Oral Surgeons and Awesome Blog Readers (That’s YOU!)”

  1. Elisabeth said

    Hi!
    You don’t know me from Adam, but I have been reading your blog for awhile, and always enjoy your posts. 🙂 I can personally testify to how important it is to find a friendly oral surgeon! When I needed to have my wisdom teeth out, I was very nervous, but my surgeon put me at ease by explaining everything that would happen. He has amazing nurses who deal with all kinds of nervous people, so on surgery day, I wasn’t as afraid as I thought I’d be! I had “conscious sedation” (the conscious part was a misnomer, but that wasn’t a bad thing!) and surgery took about 15 minutes. My big piece of advice for anyone regarding oral surgery: Keep. Ice. On. Your. Jaw. Yes, that seems like a big hassle, but trust me, it is worth it. I was able to avoid the nasty, narcotic painkillers by using this technique! I kept the ice on my face as constantly as possible for 2.5 days, and had almost no visible swelling or bruising. I used Arthritis-strength Tylenol every 8 hours around the clock, and as long as I stayed on top of my dose, I literally had NO pain.

    If you really want to know the worst part about getting wisdom teeth out, it’s how you can’t just grab and eat anything for a few days afterwards. You have to be sure it’s something that is soft and easy to chew with your front teeth. But not oatmeal. Or rice. Trust me. No particle-y foods.

    Let us know how it goes! 🙂

    Elisabeth

  2. Mindy said

    Oh no!!! Don’t you hate it when you do stuff like that? Will you get a new one?

  3. Mom said

    Have you thought about sending your test results to Blackberry? I mean, since YOU’VE done this research it would save the time and expense of THEM doing it. No need to re-invent the wheel, don’t you think? 🙂

Leave a Reply

