Summertime in Arizona

August 19, 2010

A normal blog would have pictures of cactus in the summertime or kids at the pool or trips to the mountains to escape the heat.

But this isn’t a normal blog, is it?  And if you came here for normalcy, let me give you a moment to escape.  Now is your chance.  GO!

Okay.

In OUR house in the summertime in Arizona, and especially when Yummy Man has been gone for 2 weeks and so the estrogen/testosterone levels are skewed, funny things start to happen.

The older kids dress the younger ones up in inappropriate attire.  And then I have to take pictures because I can’t NOT.  (I’m an expert at double negatives)

The funniest part is that 2- and 4-Year-Old don’t get why it’s funny to be dressed up in little girls’ slips and pink sparkly capes, and so stand proudly with their chests puffed out and legs spread, so proud of their photogenic-ness.

And then, 2-Year-Old, in his pink sparkly cape and headdress, sticks his hand out at me, summoning The Force, and proclaims to me that he’s Darth Vader.

I’m not sure which is more disturbing to me…….That 2-Year-Old thinks he’s all that in pink sparkles or that he knows who Darth Vader is.

But wait!

There’s more!

Then he yells out, “ME A GIRL!”

And this is the part where Yummy Man, separated from us by order of the U.S. government, shudders quietly in his hotel room.

2 Responses to “Summertime in Arizona”

  1. Ali said

    Oh the things 2 year olds say.

    Tell everyone I said hi and that I miss y’all

  2. Kim Mc. said

    (poke, poke)

    If I leave a comment, will that remind you to come back and write some more?

Leave a Reply

